Indian Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This was a great recipe, which I will definitely make again! Both my husband and 4-year-old enjoyed it (the latter was exceptionally excited at the notion of eating "yellow" rice). I followed the recipe precisely with three exceptions: 1) I used Spanish saffron threads (it was all I had on hand); 2) I substituted 1/2 cup white wine for 1/2 cup of the water (per another reviewer's suggestion); and 3) I cooked it in a saucepan with lid as opposed to a skillet (my only lidded skillet was far too large for this recipe, and I was afraid it would burn). I think that next time I might saute a large chopped onion in the butter along with rice/salt for added texture and flavor. All in all, it is a nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Bergquist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I'm used to my rice having a more intense flavour, but I have to say that this recipe was wonderful. I did add a sprinkle each of pepper, paprika, garlic and onion powder. Also I added slightly more saffron but overall it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
great rice, the only thing i did different was i cooked it in my small rice cooker using it's rice and water measure. I served this with the tarragon lovers scallops and snow peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
A great easy recipe but WAY too much salt. Highly recommend reducing the salt to at least 1/2tsp. You can always add more salt later if waned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This rice was fabulous! I paired it with the Greek Lamb Kabobs and it was a hit. The trick is to cook it in a rice cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
This rice was beautiful and tasty. Used a tea strainer since I only had saffron strands. Took a coffee filter and cut a square out and wrapped the saffron in it, then put it in the strainer and in the water. Came out rich and yellow. Served with Tandoori Chicken from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmalltownJar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Fairly flavorful and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I tripled this recipe for a dinner party and it came out great. It was the first thing to disappear from the platter and the first thing that I was complimented on by my guests. I used whole Spanish saffron threads, but used more than I would have if I had Indian saffron. I also added about 8 green cardamom pods and 8 cloves to give a little extra flavor. I also used ghee instead of whole butter. I couldn't have been more pleased with it, and I'm pretty picky about my basmati!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I wasnt expecting this to be real flavorful. just yellow.lol. Saffron doesnt have a really strong flavor but it does have a very mild and unique one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RasheedsWife

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Fairly bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States