Indian Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I'm used to my rice having a more intense flavour, but I have to say that this recipe was wonderful. I did add a sprinkle each of pepper, paprika, garlic and onion powder. Also I added slightly more saffron but overall it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
great rice, the only thing i did different was i cooked it in my small rice cooker using it's rice and water measure. I served this with the tarragon lovers scallops and snow peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
A great easy recipe but WAY too much salt. Highly recommend reducing the salt to at least 1/2tsp. You can always add more salt later if waned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This rice was fabulous! I paired it with the Greek Lamb Kabobs and it was a hit. The trick is to cook it in a rice cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
This rice was beautiful and tasty. Used a tea strainer since I only had saffron strands. Took a coffee filter and cut a square out and wrapped the saffron in it, then put it in the strainer and in the water. Came out rich and yellow. Served with Tandoori Chicken from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmalltownJar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Fairly flavorful and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I tripled this recipe for a dinner party and it came out great. It was the first thing to disappear from the platter and the first thing that I was complimented on by my guests. I used whole Spanish saffron threads, but used more than I would have if I had Indian saffron. I also added about 8 green cardamom pods and 8 cloves to give a little extra flavor. I also used ghee instead of whole butter. I couldn't have been more pleased with it, and I'm pretty picky about my basmati!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I wasnt expecting this to be real flavorful. just yellow.lol. Saffron doesnt have a really strong flavor but it does have a very mild and unique one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RasheedsWife

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Fairly bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This is a great little recipe! Easy and produces beautiful rice. I used saffron threads and brown jasmine rice- just cooked for about 35-40 minutes. It has a mild flavor and goes great with Indian food. Great to have in my recipe box. I forgot to add the salt- would probably do 1/2 tsp. or less if I did put it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States