Indian Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Excellent flavor. Is saffron really that expensive? I bought Saffron flower and it works just as well. Very tasty rice. Good with cucumber yogurt and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I thought this was really good, but I will only make it till the saffron runs out, then I would probably make plain white rice and save on the cost of buying saffron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASU_DEVIL_WPCAREY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
SO GOOD! This recipe for saffron rice really does melt in your mouth. I didn't bother boiling the saffron or the water. I just toasted the rice (I used basmati) and used chicken broth instead of water and added saffron threads before covering. Turned out perfect! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I'm not sure if it was my saffron or what, but this came out completely bland :( Perhaps I'll try again sometime with a different saffron. thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaylie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Was good but not so great that I would want to do it all the time. I followed the advice from other readers and used chicken broth instead of water to cook the rice. Note that my rice was done in 15 min... I left it in the pan 20 min and it started to stick and became crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Downing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I wasn't impressed with the flavor. It was lacking something, however I can't figure out what. I might attempt it again, but I doubt it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye of Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Photo by WILLANDJENN2004
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Very tasty *made with Veggie broth in lieu of water and brought to a boil with my saffron. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
loved it, listened to other raters and used chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
For some reason, I've never been able to make rice. The consistency is always too watery or too smushy. I followed this recipe to a "T" and FINALLY I made rice that was palatable. This recipe will now be my go-to rice recipe, although it's a little on the bland side. It's a good overall recipe for saffron rice. Definitely a keeper for those of us who are rice-challenged. My husband asked for seconds! (very rare...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This recipe is excellent! My husband said he's never had better rice. Wouldn't change a thing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States