Indian Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Loved this dish! I used chicken broth instead of water, but if you do you should omit the salt. And I used saffron threads instead of powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Langenburg Dieguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Amazing recipe. For those who said it was bland... I don't know what you were eating. I used the saffron strands from a Middle Eastern grocery store. I used about 2 tsp (for a double recipe). I crushed it by hand before I boiled it in the water. I didn't strain it but left the saffron in the water. Went exactly by recipe the first time and it was yummy. Made it again and used one chicken bullion cube (in place of half the salt) and I added a splash of white vinegar and a couple sprinkles of sugar as suggested by someone else. It was amazing. Next time I will probably use double the saffron cuz I like a strong flavor. My husband said he could just sit there and eat the rice even WITHOUT the coconut curry chicken over it. lol. I am trying to figure out how to incorporate it into more meals like fried rice, etc. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerLynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This is absolutely perfect rice every time. I never steep the saffron (& we use threads, not powder). After cooking rice & salt in butter until opaque, I just pour low sodium chicken stock (in place of the water) and saffron over the rice, cover immeidately and cook on low for approx. 20 min. Excellent! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by Linda Fogo
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Excellent recipe. I used Saffron powder. I used chicken, garlic broth instead of water. Was very tasty. I will make it a lot more times. It went well with Pork chops and garlic green beans. Took a pic of the plate and put it on the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Fogo

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Venice, Florida, USA
Living In: Nokomis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
adding approx. 1tablespoon of lemon juice and a little bit of sugar will increase the taste. Traditionally we also garnish with caramelized onion just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Quick & Easy. Very handy recipe. When we want only white rice we now use the cooking technique suggested here & drop the butter, salt & saffron. The rice comes out light and fluffy and is a great base in other dishes. For special occasions use a better quality rice for a better dish but for normal day in day out cooking any rice will do quite well. If my main dish is chicken I drop the salt and add a chicken bullion cube to the water. Then sprinkle the top with roasted pine nuts and a pitch of cinnamon. This also goes well when served with peas and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, except that I used Spanish saffron threads and Jasmine rice, because that is what I had. I thought it was delicious. I ate mine with roasted tomatoes and cauliflower. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I cut the butter down to 1 scant tablespoon (unsalted) and only used 1/2 teaspoon salt. I can't get over how GOOD this was. I served it on some red leaf lettuce with tandoori chicken and chapati bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
It wasn't tasteless, but it was bland. Didn't like it and I seriously wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This dish was really wonderful. I took the advise of some of the other reviewers and steeped the saffron threads in white wine then used chicken stock for the rest of the liquid and my husband and I really loved it. We decided that if you added some fresh keilbasa or pork (something that would let off a little fat) it could be a savory main dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane  Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States