Indian Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This turned out perfect! My whole family loved it. Basic and reliable! Made sure to keep things boiling as it said in the description, and the rice did turn out fluffy. Should have made twice as much! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greencastle, Indiana, USA
Living In: South Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Yummy and easy. Loved the saffron edge and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeanlin
Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Delicious! Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by Candace6b
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This was really tasty! I liked it a lot! It was easy to make and very fluffy. I did end up using Spanish Saffron due to being unable to find the Indian Saffron, it didn't taste spicy but that is probably why. It still had a good flavor. I added a picture of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Loved this dish! I used chicken broth instead of water, but if you do you should omit the salt. And I used saffron threads instead of powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Amazing recipe. For those who said it was bland... I don't know what you were eating. I used the saffron strands from a Middle Eastern grocery store. I used about 2 tsp (for a double recipe). I crushed it by hand before I boiled it in the water. I didn't strain it but left the saffron in the water. Went exactly by recipe the first time and it was yummy. Made it again and used one chicken bullion cube (in place of half the salt) and I added a splash of white vinegar and a couple sprinkles of sugar as suggested by someone else. It was amazing. Next time I will probably use double the saffron cuz I like a strong flavor. My husband said he could just sit there and eat the rice even WITHOUT the coconut curry chicken over it. lol. I am trying to figure out how to incorporate it into more meals like fried rice, etc. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerLynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This is absolutely perfect rice every time. I never steep the saffron (& we use threads, not powder). After cooking rice & salt in butter until opaque, I just pour low sodium chicken stock (in place of the water) and saffron over the rice, cover immeidately and cook on low for approx. 20 min. Excellent! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by Linda Fogo
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Excellent recipe. I used Saffron powder. I used chicken, garlic broth instead of water. Was very tasty. I will make it a lot more times. It went well with Pork chops and garlic green beans. Took a pic of the plate and put it on the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Fogo

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Venice, Florida, USA
Living In: Nokomis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
adding approx. 1tablespoon of lemon juice and a little bit of sugar will increase the taste. Traditionally we also garnish with caramelized onion just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Quick & Easy. Very handy recipe. When we want only white rice we now use the cooking technique suggested here & drop the butter, salt & saffron. The rice comes out light and fluffy and is a great base in other dishes. For special occasions use a better quality rice for a better dish but for normal day in day out cooking any rice will do quite well. If my main dish is chicken I drop the salt and add a chicken bullion cube to the water. Then sprinkle the top with roasted pine nuts and a pitch of cinnamon. This also goes well when served with peas and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States