Indian Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Absolutely lovely result - Note that the pan produces a lot of very hot steam when the water is added - just ask me how I know... Use a decent jug for the water, not a little measuring jug!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen McKinley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Yum! The texture of my rice was perfect...rice is hit or miss for me usually. My first time using saffron, I had threads not powdered...followed the recipe exactly otherwise. Next time, less salt, think it overpowered the saffron just a hair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Very plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This is a great and easy recipe! The whole family loved it!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I simplified this by using my rice cooker, but I did steep my saffron (threads) in hot water a bit first. I doubled the batch but did not double the amount of water-- just increased it by maybe 50%. Turned out very nicely, and my picky teenager went back for seconds, which is a huge improvement over throwing half his dinner in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mflo
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Made this rice twice, great taste, fluffy, basic. Cant go wrong, use real saffron obviously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I thought this was incredible. I made it exactly as written but I used brown rice instead of white because that's all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Delicious! This is the only rice I have ever had that I could eat just plain, it's so good...I think that sauteing the rice in the butter first is a key step, although we used a little less butter and like other reviewers, real saffron threads. We liked it even better than a saffron rice recipe we found in an authentic Indian cookbook! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Excellent side dish for an Indian dinner. I substituted ghee for the butter and following remaining directions exactly. Soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Delicious rice. I made this recipe to accompany a curry chicken dish. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States