Indian Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
rice turned out perfectly fluffy and a gorgeous color! I used spanish saffron threads, and crushed them in a mortar/pestle to make the required amount. I made this recipe twice for the marrakesh vegetable curry on this website. The second time i made it, i halved the butter for less fat and think it was better the second time around, less greasy/buttery. I also used unsalted butter. If you love buttery rice though, do use the amount listed! Very good recipes, will definitely make again and use the technique for other grains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
What a great way to make flavored rice. I only used only about 1 tablespoon of butter. Instead of using powdered saffron, I went to an Indian store and purchase saffron threads, they are much cheaper compare to the American grocer. I put the saffron thread with boiling water, mush it with the back of the spoon to help release more of the flavor before pouring it to the rice. For one cup of rice I used a little less than 1/4 tsp of thread. I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
Excellent way to make rice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INDRIANI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
I disagree with the other reviewers. I was actually very disappointed with how this rice came out. It was very bland and flavorless, almost as if i had done nothing to the rice at all. My saffron has been sitting for quite some time....perhaps it's lost it's flavor. Other reviewers make me think I'm doing something wrong. I may try this one again when i get new saffron, and I'll put more saffron in next time. If the result is the same, then this recipe is simply not worth my time (and more importantly, my saffron).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
Great, I served with salmon and roasted vegetables. My guests loved it. It was simple, tasty and beatiful addition to the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
Quick and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
I agree with other reviewers that the texture of the rice did come out perfect. However, my rice also suffered from a lack of taste. Maybe because I had to use Mexican Saffron. That was all I could find. It does have a pretty yellow color though. I served with Indonesian Pork Satay. The nice part was the taste of this rice did not over power my main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I used this for a base for a shrimp and scallop recipe I bbq'd. I was afraid the flavour would be too overpowering but was surprised by its subtleness. Excellent colour and aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selkirk, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
i really enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASSIVEMO1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
I must say that I have never had rice turn out as fluffy and as tender as this! Mine usually sticks together and eventually turns to mush. However, I was very disappointed by the flavor. It could have been because I used Spanish saffron, so I will try Indian next time. I hate to say this, but the Zatarain's yellow rice had more flavor! To save my beautiful fluffy grains, I ended up adding tumeric which REALLY helped alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States