Indian Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe. The only changes I made were to use jasmine rice, 1/4 tsp saffron threads & add two chicken bouillon cubes dissolved in the hot water instead of adding the salt. Neither my husband nor I had ever tasted the amazing subtle flavor of real saffron before. Thanks for posting this recipe and for all the great comments by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I had been wanting to try Saffron Rice forever and found this recipe after I received a Bonus Saffron in a spice order. Good but not fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Hurricane, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I skipped all the boiling water etc. I used my rice cooker and put the saffron in with chicken broth (instead of water), butter, salt, & Kasmati Basmati rice. I soaked it all for 20 minutes before turning on the rice cooker. It was wonderful! I paired it with Curried Honey Mustard Chicken and Parmesan Asparagus from this site. My kids (young adults) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
It was okay; didn't get the saffron flavor that I love in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrisbhs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
You really need to use basmati rice to get that wonderful flavor. Try that!! I used your recipe as you have it written only I used the basmati and soaked saffron in hot water first and it tastes just like the restaurant. Oh! and I put it all in my rice cooker and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Made with brown rice and chicken broth instead of water. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This turned out perfect! My whole family loved it. Basic and reliable! Made sure to keep things boiling as it said in the description, and the rice did turn out fluffy. Should have made twice as much! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greencastle, Indiana, USA
Living In: South Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Yummy and easy. Loved the saffron edge and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeanlin
Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Delicious! Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by Candace6b
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This was really tasty! I liked it a lot! It was easy to make and very fluffy. I did end up using Spanish Saffron due to being unable to find the Indian Saffron, it didn't taste spicy but that is probably why. It still had a good flavor. I added a picture of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States