Indian Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I used Basmati rice, replaced the water with chicken stock and added a cinnamon stick. I first heated about a 1/4 cup of stock with the saffron in the microwave for about 2 mins. Let it set for about 5 mins. Added everything to my rice cooker and let stand on "warm" for about 1/2 hour. This allowed the flavors to really settle in before turning on to cook. Rice came out bright and colorful. At the end added some frozen peas/carrots that had been defrosted in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Good recipe, but unnecessarily complicated. The saffron does not need to be steeped separately, nor does the water have to be boiling in order to turn out perfectly cooked and fluffy rice. I used saffron threads to taste, and chicken broth rather than water. This is a perfect, pretty and understated rice side dish to complement spicier meats or main dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Like several others, I used saffron threads instead of powder. I steeped the saffron in 1/2c room temp. white wine. I used chicken bullion (veg. stock would also be a good substitute) for the remaining 1 1/2c liquid. Both these additions added a good amount of flavor to the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
What a great way to make flavored rice. I only used only about 1 tablespoon of butter. Instead of using powdered saffron, I went to an Indian store and purchase saffron threads, they are much cheaper compare to the American grocer. I put the saffron thread with boiling water, mush it with the back of the spoon to help release more of the flavor before pouring it to the rice. For one cup of rice I used a little less than 1/4 tsp of thread. I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I tripled this recipe for a dinner party and it came out great. It was the first thing to disappear from the platter and the first thing that I was complimented on by my guests. I used whole Spanish saffron threads, but used more than I would have if I had Indian saffron. I also added about 8 green cardamom pods and 8 cloves to give a little extra flavor. I also used ghee instead of whole butter. I couldn't have been more pleased with it, and I'm pretty picky about my basmati!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
I agree with other reviewers that the texture of the rice did come out perfect. However, my rice also suffered from a lack of taste. Maybe because I had to use Mexican Saffron. That was all I could find. It does have a pretty yellow color though. I served with Indonesian Pork Satay. The nice part was the taste of this rice did not over power my main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
Excellent recipe. I topped each serving with a light sprinkle of cinnamon and toasted pine nuts as they do in a local restaurant. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKKIESIMAGE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Great recipe!! However, I used chicken broth instead of the water, and it turned out excellent. The saffron rice went great with the Marakesh Vegetable Curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
I must say that I have never had rice turn out as fluffy and as tender as this! Mine usually sticks together and eventually turns to mush. However, I was very disappointed by the flavor. It could have been because I used Spanish saffron, so I will try Indian next time. I hate to say this, but the Zatarain's yellow rice had more flavor! To save my beautiful fluffy grains, I ended up adding tumeric which REALLY helped alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Yummy and easy! I 4x this recipe for a Girl Scout event that featured foods from around the world. I was amazed how many girls were asking for seconds or even thirds! I just made this again for my family, and it pairs up wonderfully with the Curry-Coconut Shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States