Indian Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Used threads instead of ground, but otherwise stayed true to it, and served it with chicken curry. It turned ordinary rice extraordinary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I'm addicted to this stuff! It's great as written but to really elevate the flavor I've tweaked my version with some of the other reviewers suggestions. I boil two cups of chicken stock in the micro with a 1/2 tsp of saffron threads, about a 1/8 tsp of ground turmeric and a splash of vinegar. I use jasmine rice instead of plain rice. To make it a meal I've added an extra ingredient; onion, diced bbq pork, diced grilled chicken, cashews. Seriously awesome recipe!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This was tasty. I used threads of saffron instead of powdered. Subbed veggie stock for the water. It came out delicious. I could have used a few extra strands of saffron but I was unsure how many to use, think I used 3. The cooking directions are really great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Pretty good rice, and the directions are perfect for perfectly cooked, fluffy rice. My only complaint is that it wasn't as flavorful as I'd have liked--I didn't taste much of the saffron. I used saffron threads and didn't steep long enough, I think, and next time I'll use chicken broth instead of water. Otherwise, this makes perfectly excellent rice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I used brown rice and added a 1/4 cup more water. I also used Spanish Saffron and doubled the quantity to 1/4 tsp since the author's notations state that this is based on the "richer" Indian saffron. The cooking time is 10-15 minutes longer with the brown rice. If you are using salted butter you can decrease the salt to 1/2 tsp. - This is yummy and simple. I wish I made twice as much. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlady
Photo by Howard
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patterson, New York, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I'll have to try this one again. followed the recipe, though i used spanish saffron threads which i crushed and brown basmati rice. Next time I'll use more saffron and perhaps no salt or very little. It sort of reminded me more of buttered popcorn than indian rice. :) I even think it would be fun to make it more of a casserole, use the same recipe but put it in a baking dish, add chicken pieces to it, cover and bake for 45ish minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I made this dish over the weekend and I must say it was wonderful even though I'm not much of a rice eater. I thought I'd splurge and buy some saffron and I'm glad I found this recipe. Leeflea51 Dear Cooking for Dummies, as stated I made this and it was great. When I tried to save it, it appears on my screen as if I had submitted it and I don't know how to get it off and give proper attribution. I've contacted support for their help. I just don't want you to think I usurped your wonderful recipe. Leeflea51
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leaflea51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okolona, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Red Bay, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This recipe will become a frequent one in our house. It was very simple & quick, but added that "mom cooked for hours" feel. Even my picky 6 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This recipe was very easy to make, however, it was very bland. The saffron rice I have had in the past was very flavorful. I'll will have to keep looking for my saffron rice! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States