Indian Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Absolutely lovely result - Note that the pan produces a lot of very hot steam when the water is added - just ask me how I know... Use a decent jug for the water, not a little measuring jug!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen McKinley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Yum! The texture of my rice was perfect...rice is hit or miss for me usually. My first time using saffron, I had threads not powdered...followed the recipe exactly otherwise. Next time, less salt, think it overpowered the saffron just a hair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Very plain. Tasted like plain steamed rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This is a great and easy recipe! The whole family loved it!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I simplified this by using my rice cooker, but I did steep my saffron (threads) in hot water a bit first. I doubled the batch but did not double the amount of water-- just increased it by maybe 50%. Turned out very nicely, and my picky teenager went back for seconds, which is a huge improvement over throwing half his dinner in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mflo
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Made this rice twice, great taste, fluffy, basic. Cant go wrong, use real saffron obviously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I thought this was incredible. I made it exactly as written but I used brown rice instead of white because that's all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Delicious! This is the only rice I have ever had that I could eat just plain, it's so good...I think that sauteing the rice in the butter first is a key step, although we used a little less butter and like other reviewers, real saffron threads. We liked it even better than a saffron rice recipe we found in an authentic Indian cookbook! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Excellent side dish for an Indian dinner. I substituted ghee for the butter and following remaining directions exactly. Soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Delicious rice. I made this recipe to accompany a curry chicken dish. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States