Indian Rice (Pulao) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Came out great. The perfect complement to the lamb marinated in yogurt, garlic & rosemary. I will cut the recipe in half next time. 4 cups of rice is a lot of rice. Doug
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Umm...yes! This is incredible! Did everything just as the recipe called for, except used ground cardamom in place of the seeds. It was hard to stop eating this. I served it with the Indian Tomato Chicken recipe listed on this site and me and fam (including husband and 3 little kids) were in heaven. I'm not sure what to say about folks who found it bland. I thought it was anything but. Subtle, maybe, but REALLY tasty. Eat it as a side dish to make sure you get enough "flavor" out of your dinner! (By the way, I'd cut the recipe in half next time - this is two dinners' worth of rice for a family of 5.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
this turned out to be deliciousssssssssssssssss...dont do it without the cloth...u can use damp tissues instead!!! eat it along with chicken curry or any other indian curry preparation !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
The towel on the top threw me off and I overcooked the rice. Check before the 20 minutes. Like the other reviewer I felt it was a little bland or missing something. Itlooked gorgeous as it was sauteing and the aroma was wonderful-but that first bite let me down. Perhaps I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Excellent served with Indian Chicken Curry II. I used basmati rice instead of white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJANAY44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
It wasn't bad, but wasn't as good as I'd hoped!.. Lots of effort! Makes a lot too! Luckily I also made plain steamed rice and it was better with my main course. Cooks up somewhat dry, probably because the towel soaks up extra steam in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Finally an awesome Indian rice recipe! It was absolutely awesome! My husband also loved it and I'm keeping this recipe handy! I used the saffron AND the ground turmeric (the turmeric was put in with the other spices). I also added a chicken bullion cube to the spices and it turned out awesome!!!! It was good enough to eat by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
The rice was good, but a little bland. Unfortunately, I didn't have any cardamon pods, so that didn't help at all. I halved the recipe, but next time I'll just halve the rice and water and keep the extra spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I laughed at the comment from the woman whose husband ate from the pot after dinner, but low and behold, I caught my husband doing the same thing later that night!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabrielle in DC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
very good and authentic. I used basmati rice, wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States