Indian Rice (Pulao) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Authentic, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This rice is easy to make but very bland. If you are south Asian you will not like this rice. I would skip this recipe and find a more authentic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Very good! I cooked it with red rice and served with some baked fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I made this using brown rice and quartered the recipe. I also goofed and forgot to add the yogurt. I used 1 c. brown rice, and 2 c. water, and baked the rice for an hour without the whole cloth thing. Baked brown rice always comes out much better than stove top. All the spices I used were ground. And I used oil instead of shortening. At first it seemed bland, but after a few spoonfuls, I really grew a liking to it. The flavors are subtle and it works great as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Excellent rice dish for Indian Meal of Grilled Chicken Thighs Tandoori and Raita also from AllRecipes.com. The Cardamon is an expensive seasoning. I could not find cardamon seeds at my grocery store, so I used ground cardamon. Also added 1 teaspoon of chicken bullion along with the water and yogurt in lieu of the salt. Used olive oil instead of vegetable shortening to cook onions and spices. Did not use saffron threads because I do not like this spice. Saffron is too over powering for my taste. Used Indian Basmati rice in place of regular long-grain white rice. I cooked the rice in my enameled covered cast iron dutch oven with three terry cloth towels tucked under the lid to absorb moisture; this worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Sorry but I was expecting more from this dish. I followed the recipe exactly as written, I think the problem was the cloth because it wasn't as moist as I expected to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This was so much better than serving plain rice with Indian dishes, like I was doing before. I'll be making this from now on! I halved the recipe, used turmeric instead of saffron and used butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I definitely made only a variation of this recipe due to not having many of the required ingredients. I simply wanted something to spice up the rice. I used jasmine rice (1 C); chopped onion (1/2 med onion); 1/2 tsp. each of cinnamon, cumin, garlic powder, and ginger. It was very good and I will use it again and again. The flavor was just enough to spice up the plain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I halved this recipe. Per another reviewer's suggestion, I used the saffron AND the turmeric (added the turmeric in with the other spices) along with 1/2 tsp chicken bouillion. I also used 1/2 tsp ground cardamom, as I didn't have cardamom pods and I used a combo of unsalted butter and olive oil instead of shortening. This cooked perfectly and turned out so great, we loved it. We did have a lot left over even though I'd halved the recipe, I'm glad I didn't make the full amount. The leftovers are delicious though, thanks so much for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Came out great. The perfect complement to the lamb marinated in yogurt, garlic & rosemary. I will cut the recipe in half next time. 4 cups of rice is a lot of rice. Doug
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States