Indian Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
My first time ever trying to make an Indian rice and it was so delicious! It was so fragrant and it made the house smell lovely. I found the flavor to be excellent and I will definitely make this a regular recipe. The only thing that I did differently was to saute the onions before adding them to the boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I made this rice as written and yes it is very good but felt the flavours needed a little waking up. So next time will do one of the following tweaks 1. add the onion and spices to the broth so this way they will blend better with the liquid or 2. as the broth is coming to a boil in a small fry pan sauté the onion and spices in a little oil and butter. Once the broth is at the boil add along with the rice. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This was very yummy. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Excellent. I did not change a thing and my whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This is good stuff! Great with curries and any other dishes, really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was very good and I will make it again. I substituted scallions for the onion, cayenne for paprika to add some heat which it needed in my opinion, and added golden raisins the last five minutes of cooking for a little tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Flavor is delicious, but I did substitute bouillion/water and added salt to the water to be boiled. I paired with Easy Indian Butter Chicken here and rated that recipe too. This recipe made sticky rice, not finely separated Indian rice we're used to in restaurants. Next time I will toast rice in some butter or oil and boil bouillion salt water separately to add to it and see if that solves the sticky rice outcome. Serving size was right on. My four kids under 10 asked for leftovers in their lunches so I had to forgo my own leftover hopes. Next time I will double the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie Carter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This was pretty good, though I had expected something amazing. My kids ate it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
we made it exactly as listed in instruction and is was very bland. It needed some kick so we added cayenne pepper to it while we were eating at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States