Indian Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Awesome! Thanks for the great idea. I struggled to make this since I was out of everything. I used yellow bell peppers from my garden, rice vinegar instead of white wine, cayenne instead of crushed red pepper, cane sugar instead of white, and I added mustard seeds and tumeric for that lovely yellow color! It turned out delicious anyway. I plan on serving it for dinner tonight as a chutney with chicken that I will also add some curry powder to. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I took this to work for a cultural event we were having and won a 1/2 day of vacation in our food contest! It's very easy to prepare, and everyone raved about it. My store was out of red peppers so I substituted with orange, and they worked great too. I also added a bit more crushed pepper and it had a really good kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I didn't change the recipe at all as it was just fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAPOLIMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Great...but it is what it is...a sweet and sour relish. If you're looking for an appetizer for your husband's superbowl party, he'd likely rather a spinach or 7-layer dip as they can be consumed in mass quantity. This relish is nice for tasting and the ladies will rave when served at the baby shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This relish is delicious. It is a perfect thing to bring to a work potluck, my friends always ask me to bring it to gatherings. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I made this for Memorial Day and put it on hot dogs and burgers. It was good. I did add some cornstarch to the recipe though to make it a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
We enjoyed this very much. I didn't mind the "stink" in the house....It reminded me of all the canning my mother used to do. This will be a regular for us. We used it on meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This relish was fantastic. I reduced the red pepper flakes to 1 tsp, simmered for 1 hour, and in the last 10 minutes added 2 tbsp. cornstarch diluted in 2 tbsp. water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This was exactly what I was looking for. Reminds me of this relish that I buy at a gourmet food store in a mall. Now I don't spend nearly as much or have to drive 45 minutes. This is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
This is a very good-tasting relish but I am giving it 4 stars because it really does stink up the house. I finely chopped the veggies using a food processor and simmered for an hour. I mixed about half of the relish with a block of cream cheese to make a spread and it tastes great! However, it tastes A LOT like the jalepeno jelly you can buy in the store. Just for sake of ease, I'll probably stick with my standby appetizer recipe of a block of cream cheese with jalepeno jelly on top spread on crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Relish

A wonderfully sweet and spicy relish for topping crackers.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States