Indian Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
This recipe is great. It reminds me of a condiment my Mother used to make, we'd use it on roast beef. My Mom's recipe always seemed to thin to me, when I made this I did as others said and used some cornstarch to thicken. That made it perfect. I too only used 1tsp. of the crushed red pepper flakes. I am so thankful I decided to try this recipe. Thanks Cindy for the walk down memory lane. Even when this was cooking it smelled like my Mom's house when she was canning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Awesome! Thanks for the great idea. I struggled to make this since I was out of everything. I used yellow bell peppers from my garden, rice vinegar instead of white wine, cayenne instead of crushed red pepper, cane sugar instead of white, and I added mustard seeds and tumeric for that lovely yellow color! It turned out delicious anyway. I plan on serving it for dinner tonight as a chutney with chicken that I will also add some curry powder to. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I took this to work for a cultural event we were having and won a 1/2 day of vacation in our food contest! It's very easy to prepare, and everyone raved about it. My store was out of red peppers so I substituted with orange, and they worked great too. I also added a bit more crushed pepper and it had a really good kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I didn't change the recipe at all as it was just fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAPOLIMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Great...but it is what it is...a sweet and sour relish. If you're looking for an appetizer for your husband's superbowl party, he'd likely rather a spinach or 7-layer dip as they can be consumed in mass quantity. This relish is nice for tasting and the ladies will rave when served at the baby shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This relish is delicious. It is a perfect thing to bring to a work potluck, my friends always ask me to bring it to gatherings. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I made this for Memorial Day and put it on hot dogs and burgers. It was good. I did add some cornstarch to the recipe though to make it a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
We enjoyed this very much. I didn't mind the "stink" in the house....It reminded me of all the canning my mother used to do. This will be a regular for us. We used it on meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This relish was fantastic. I reduced the red pepper flakes to 1 tsp, simmered for 1 hour, and in the last 10 minutes added 2 tbsp. cornstarch diluted in 2 tbsp. water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This was exactly what I was looking for. Reminds me of this relish that I buy at a gourmet food store in a mall. Now I don't spend nearly as much or have to drive 45 minutes. This is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Relish

A wonderfully sweet and spicy relish for topping crackers.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States