Indian Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This is so good! Very easy to make, we canned a bunch for Christmas gifts. I added a can of whole cranberries in sauce, 3 T. diced jalapeno peppers and 1/2 cup brown sugar to each batch I made. Both times I've made this (the original recipe and my version) it didn't thicken on it's own, I added 3 T. corn starch. They're right---this is very addicting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
This is delicious. I serve it at cocktail parties and give it as a hostess gift with baked pita chips. It is probably too spicy for most children, although you can cut back on the red pepper flakes. ADDICTING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
Yummy! So quick and tasty. Wonderful mixed with cream cheese and served as a dip with crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheepy
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Sweet, spicy, fast, cheap, & easy. Sort of like me:o):o):o) I cut the pepper flakes back to around 1 tsp. & added cornstarch as others did. It isn't even cool yet & half of it's gone. Awesome with cheese or just plain crackers. I will always have this in the fridge. Thank you so much for sharing! Love it!:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Photo by cathyjo3
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Very similar to a Harry and David pepper and onion relish I recently tried. Add 1 cup of this Indian Relish to 8 oz of cream cheese (mix well) and you have an amazing dip to serve with Wheat Thin crackers!! You can add crushed pineapple or pecans for a different flavor. This recipe makes 3 cups which is probably a great amount served by itself, but definitely would half the mixture if you plan to mix with Cream cheese, as this recipe will create 3 batches of Cream Cheese Relish Dip. When I made the relish it did not thicken, so after an hour of simmering on the stove I added 2 tablespoon of cornstarch mixed in 2 tablespoons of water and it thickened right up! This is a must try Relish and will be great for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyjo3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galesburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
The beautiful red color of this dish makes this a perfect Christmas appetizer. The relish, almost like candy, is paired well with the cream cheese. I used my stick blender to puree the relish and had no problems with it being runny. I made the recipe as written and enjoyed the hot bite. This sauce would also make a very good sweet and sour pork or shrimp dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Yummy! I have had a similar relish and had never been able to find the recipe. This is it! I simmered it for 30 minutes, however, I ended up boiling it again for a few minutes at the end to thicken it up. It also caramelized the onions. Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Holdrege, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This is very delicious! I spooned over cream cheese on crackers. Tasted like crab rangoon with a kick. It is very rich, & would not recommend making unless for a crowd of people because a little goes a long way. Made it for myself & my husband who did not care for it so I had a lot to throw away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This relish was fantastic. I reduced the red pepper flakes to 1 tsp, simmered for 1 hour, and in the last 10 minutes added 2 tbsp. cornstarch diluted in 2 tbsp. water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This was exactly what I was looking for. Reminds me of this relish that I buy at a gourmet food store in a mall. Now I don't spend nearly as much or have to drive 45 minutes. This is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Relish

A wonderfully sweet and spicy relish for topping crackers.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States