Indian Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I made this for a holiday gathering. I served it atop cream cheese with crackers. I added a little bit of fresh crushed garlic and some finely chopped jalapenos and about 1 teaspoon chili powder (we like it hot). Everyone loved it, asking for the recipe. I personally felt the sauce was too sweet. Next time I will use a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I made this for a party I was hosting and basically everyone loved it! The only person who wasn't so fond of it was someone who did not like spicy food and since this has a little kick, it wasn't her favorite. Be sure to chill it for a while so it gets thicker. Mine was runny due to not having the time to refrigerate it long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
so easy and delish... will be making more and giving as hostess gifts this christmas! I did add a little thickener at the end as suggested and was happy with the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I am so in love with this recipe. I only altered the recipe by changing the red pepper flakes for a serrano pepper. I love foods that have multi layered taste/flavor. I am making this for Christmas gifts for my co-workers. Mahalo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Awesome!! I did add a little corn starch to thicken it & served it over cream cheese w/ crackers. SSOOOO good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This was great with Brie and crackers. It has just enough of kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Everyone, I mean everyone, loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
excellent with cream cheese and bagels . Also as a side dish with Mexican Bean Dip Yummo.Some people seem to have trouble with thickening this dish . Be patient . You can start it at a low boil and reduce the heat as it thickens . Be sure to keep stirring it towards the end . I have gotten it to an almost Jelly consistency .I have made this many times and never had a problem getting to the thickness that I wanted .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Yummy! I measured the red pepper flakes generously, and this was the perfect blend of sweet and spicy. Very good with crackers and cream cheese. It was a little on the runny side, though, so next time (there will definitely be a next time) I may add a little corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I made this one, the brown sauce, and the green sauce just like what we get in the Indian restaurants. This red Indian Relish is very good...you do need to add some corn starch as other suggested to thicken it up a little in the end. I halved all the ingredients and used 1/2 heaping teaspoon of the red pepper flakes. 3/4 of a teaspoon might have been good too. This one's a keeper 8-7-0...made it again and made the mistake of forgetting to turn the heat down to simmer....the sauce was almost caramelized before my husband mentioned I had something going on the stove...duh!! It still tasted fine though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Relish

A wonderfully sweet and spicy relish for topping crackers.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States