Indian Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Made this and mixed it with cream cheese and served with corn scoop-chips. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANCIE63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Simple and delicious! I have served this at several events and it always gets rave reviews. Usually the first empty dish of the evening. To serve simply place a block of cream cheese in the center of a large platter. Spoon on this lovely relish and surround with water crackers. Put cheese spreaders on each side of the platter and stand back. A perfect recipe as is and also handles substitutions quite well. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Yum! It came out delicious, although it did make the house smell while making it. I did make a few additions: 1) I added chopped kale since I had some leftover that I needed to use up. This added a little nice green specks to it, and 2) I added pineapple chunks and the pineapple juice it came in from leftovers as well. It came out tasty! Boyfriend and guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Wow! This relish is even better than the sweet pepper and onion relish from Harry and David's. I will definitely be making this one again. I followed the advice to use the canned whole cranberries with sauce. I only used 1/2 cup of sugar, but added a 1/2 cup of Splenda brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goody2shoes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Delicious and easy! I add a little flour or corn starch to thicken it then I use a stick blender to make it smooth. Wonderful over a block of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This recipe is great. It's so flexable. It looks like reviewers (myself included) have made substitutions for almost every ingredient and it still gets rave reviews. I had to sub a few things. I used yellow bell peppers and had to use a half cup of white sugar and half a cup brown sugar. I also substituted red wine vinegar because that's what I had. We've had it with cream cheese and crackers, but I'd like to try it on a sausage or brat as another reviewer suggested. It did turn out a bit sweeter than I like, so I'll lower the amount of sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I served it over a block of cream cheese with crackers. Everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe. It is very similar to putting pepper jelly over cream cheese, which is much easier. BTW I followed the recipe (except with 3/4 C of sugar) and no one thought that it was spicy at all. The cream cheese probably helped there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J A M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cathyjo3
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Very similar to a Harry and David pepper and onion relish I recently tried. Add 1 cup of this Indian Relish to 8 oz of cream cheese (mix well) and you have an amazing dip to serve with Wheat Thin crackers!! You can add crushed pineapple or pecans for a different flavor. This recipe makes 3 cups which is probably a great amount served by itself, but definitely would half the mixture if you plan to mix with Cream cheese, as this recipe will create 3 batches of Cream Cheese Relish Dip. When I made the relish it did not thicken, so after an hour of simmering on the stove I added 2 tablespoon of cornstarch mixed in 2 tablespoons of water and it thickened right up! This is a must try Relish and will be great for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyjo3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galesburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Fantastic taste for a very easy to make relish. Great also with a variety of cheeses. I did have to cook mine for about 1.5 hours to get it thicker. Once I took it off the heat, it seemed to thicken. I may try it next time with a little corn starch like the other reviewers had stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTY72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Newton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
As I was making this, I was confused on how it was going to turn out and my gosh did it stink up my house... I let it sit overnight to serve for Christmas Eve, I microwaved it for about 45 seconds to soften it, poured it over cream cheese and served with wheat crackers. WOW - what a hit!!! I couldn't believe something so simple would be so good! It was the first thing gone. I didn't make it very spicy because of kids but can't wait to try it that way next time. THIS IS AWESOME..just make sure you have good ventalation in your house when preparing as the wine vinegar is strong during the simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Relish

A wonderfully sweet and spicy relish for topping crackers.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States