Indian Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by dngrwllrbnsn
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Delicious is an understatement. Saw mixed review feedback, but followed original recipe, save for doubling cinnamon (addicted!). Rich, bold flavors. Being of primarily Irish & Italian heritage, I wouldn't be as familiar with discerning it's traditional Indian authenticity. However, it will definitely become a dessert tradition in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Oh boy! This was SO good, and since I am living in the UK at the moment, impossible to find here. I was uncertain about making my own, but this came out great, and my Scottish husband who had never even heard of it loved it. Excellent with vanilla ice cream over it. Thank you for a wonderful taste of home! Hubby just asked, "Why don't we have it again?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyAnnA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Yummy! I added a bit of ground cloves and a touch of ginger too. I also upped the corn meal to 3/4 cup because I like it more solid. My 12 year old son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I LOVE Indian Pudding and so few people know about it. I cook it long and slow in the oven. Serve with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. A classic dessert featured at Boston's Durgin Park restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soupwhistle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I altered the recipe to use Bob's Red Mill Gluten-Free Hot N Tasty cereal instead of cornmeal, and made it on the stove-top. When it was almost done, I tasted it and decided I needed to up the flavorings as it was really lacking. Perhaps I should have used brown sugar and not white. I also added rum-soaked raisins; definitely needed raisins, rum or not. Topped it off with a fresh splash of milk. Add the 4th star with the improvements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Just what I was looking for! I had this in a restaurant in Chatham on Cape Cod, and hoped to repeat the flavor I craved... thanks so much! For anyone else who may try it: I didn't have a double boiler, and so did it in a sauce pot with a thick bottom, over gas heat (easy to control!) My cook time on the stove was closer to 15 minutes as a result, and 1.5 hours in the oven as directed. As everyone else says, serve warm with a really good vanilla ice cream or fresh whipped cream. Awesome with a steaming cup of coffee alongside... I will add raisins next time - just a personal preference. TERRIFIC RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This recipe was very good and much easier than the other Indian pudding recipes we have found in the past. However the molasses flavor is very strong and the children in our family did not enjoy it. As a suggestion in this case if you decide to make it for your family try going from only Molasses to 1/8 cup molasses and 3/8 cup honey. Also try adding some rum-soaked raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missivy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Having never tried Indian Pudding before, I sought out a recipe so I could indulge my curiosity. This turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. I made it exactly as the recipe called for, & the taste was reminiscent of pumpkin pie. My suggestion for the recipe directions would be to explain a little more thoroughly about the double boiler, because I was not very familiar with it before this. Also, the recipe says to use a 1 1/2 quart baking dish, but when I poured the pudding into the dish, it filled it to the brim, & while in the oven overflowed. Otherwise this was very good, especially with some vanilla ice cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I really didn't think I would like this, but I had this cornmeal to use up and gave it a try. Go ahead try it, it is very good and perfect for the fall. Excellent with whipping cream or cinnamon flavored ice cream. I did add about 1/2 to 1 tsp. of ginger to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
The molasses flavor is too strong for folks who aren't used to it. Meanwhile, because the corn meal is cooked along with all of the milk rather than having some cold milk stirred in the end, the result is a single, thick layer. Traditionally, at least in the New England family I grew up in, Indian Pudding should have two layers, a thick layer with cornmeal at the bottom and a lighter, milk-only layer on top. It also needs raisins, preferably soaked in whiskey or rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States