Indian Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
Overall a nice, easy recipe. I liked the taste, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Oh boy! This was SO good, and since I am living in the UK at the moment, impossible to find here. I was uncertain about making my own, but this came out great, and my Scottish husband who had never even heard of it loved it. Excellent with vanilla ice cream over it. Thank you for a wonderful taste of home! Hubby just asked, "Why don't we have it again?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyAnnA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Thank you for sharing such a delicious recipe! I had had this dessert at a restaurant many years ago, and during an outing yesterday to see fall foliage, I thought of it and searched this Website for a recipe. This one seemed to be the best and I apparently chose well, as it was delicous!!!! I did not change a thing. A great New England treat!! Served it with vanilla ice cream. Yummy!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I LOVE Indian Pudding and so few people know about it. I cook it long and slow in the oven. Serve with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. A classic dessert featured at Boston's Durgin Park restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soupwhistle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Just what I was looking for! I had this in a restaurant in Chatham on Cape Cod, and hoped to repeat the flavor I craved... thanks so much! For anyone else who may try it: I didn't have a double boiler, and so did it in a sauce pot with a thick bottom, over gas heat (easy to control!) My cook time on the stove was closer to 15 minutes as a result, and 1.5 hours in the oven as directed. As everyone else says, serve warm with a really good vanilla ice cream or fresh whipped cream. Awesome with a steaming cup of coffee alongside... I will add raisins next time - just a personal preference. TERRIFIC RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dngrwllrbnsn
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Delicious is an understatement. Saw mixed review feedback, but followed original recipe, save for doubling cinnamon (addicted!). Rich, bold flavors. Being of primarily Irish & Italian heritage, I wouldn't be as familiar with discerning it's traditional Indian authenticity. However, it will definitely become a dessert tradition in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I really didn't think I would like this, but I had this cornmeal to use up and gave it a try. Go ahead try it, it is very good and perfect for the fall. Excellent with whipping cream or cinnamon flavored ice cream. I did add about 1/2 to 1 tsp. of ginger to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mamamiaof3a
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Definitely the indian pudding I grew up knowing, when I lived in Massachusetts. I made it exactly according to the directions. Must serve it warm with vanilla ice cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Yummy! I added a bit of ground cloves and a touch of ginger too. I also upped the corn meal to 3/4 cup because I like it more solid. My 12 year old son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2001
I was looking for a cornmeal mush recipe when I came across this recipe. I did some things a little differently but kept it basically the same. It is a great old fashioned recipe perfect for the coming fall months. If you have a wood stove, then cook this on top and slowly cook it while your house fills with the delicious smells of sweet cornmeal pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States