Indian Peas And Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This is a nice, clean and simple side dish for an Indian meal. Some of the reviewers are wanting it to be something else. Please note that the recipe calls for cumin *seed*, not ground cumin, which would definitely overpower this dish if mistaken. I made this recipe as written, salting to taste, and enjoyed it very much with Steve's Chicken Korma from this site. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
the flavor was ok, but it was lacking something for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
made this using some of the suggested modifications (tomatoes, masala, etc) and it still turned out pretty bland -- the only one in our family to really enjoy it was my 13 month old daughter! That's the only reason I'm giving this 3 stars. Maybe some curry powder and chickpeas might have helped...some potato...I don't know, but it needed SOMETHING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
way too much cumin. if you try this, I suggest cutting the cauliflower as small as possible. it was difficult to toss the seeds and oil to get the vegetables fully covered. I might try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhymeswith16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
you forgot to put any masala in it.... with littlebit of garam masala and peprika poweder, it will taste like an indian gobi.. cauliflower..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I was using up leftovers, so I tried this with shredded cabbage in place of the peas. It was very, very good, but I will experiment with adding a little "heat" to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Not bad. A little too much cumin I think though...and I love cumin! I used one can of peas plus a can of diced tomatoes and let it all simmer a while until the cauliflower got nice and mushy. I have better ways of fixing cauliflower, but I may try this again since it was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This is an excellent and tasty side. Goes great with beef brisket. Very quick to make also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
my husband is Indian and this just didn't have enough "kick" for us. If you like it mild then it should be good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Made this last night with Chicken Makhani (Mitch Ferguson) and it was delicious! I didn't have cumin seeds, so I added ground cumin when I added the vegs and gave it a stir. I can't wait to try it with the cumin seeds. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Daly City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States