Indian Peanut Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Very good, very healthy, very peanut-buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Yummy! I didn't have cayenne pepper, but I added a little diced jalapeno and fresh thai basil...gave it excellent flavor! I used less peanut butter since I'm watching calories, but it still tasted fabulous! Definitely give it a try...I didn't even miss having meat in my main dish. I'm sure if you wanted to up the protein, chicken would taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gouverneur, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I found this dish to be surprisingly, based upon some of the reviews, to be very good. I did reduce the peanut butter because I was a little fearful of too much PB taste. I think i used about 2/3 of a cup. everything else remained the same. additionally, I did not find that this "stew" was too thick like a lot of other people did. Tomatos and peanut butter... who knew it could be this good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
To make it somewhat enjoyable I had to add different various ingredients such as water and skim milk to thin it and honey and salt to add taste. I served it over asparagus stir-fry and brown rice to add different flavors and textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This is awesome. I add some small pieces of chicken and use a little chicken broth to thin it out. It's very good for a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This was okay. My husband and I both ate ours but forget about going back for seconds. It was VERY peanut buttery and therefore, very filling. The appearance and texture was a bit odd too, which may have put us off a bit. Overall, it was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I added peas, brocolli, and seitan that I had sauted in a different pan. I also added a good bit of water bc that stew was so think. I was a little put off by the color and thicknes but dove in anyway. It ended up being very good and hearty. My husband went for seconcds. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This must be a recipe for people that grew up with this type of food. I made it exactly as the recipe stated and it was horrible. The peanut butter overwhelmed all the other flavors. My family took one spoonful and we were off to McDonald's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
What a great and simple recipe! I added peas, some broccoli spears and served it over couscous. I'll definitely make this again as it's quick (especially if you're not making rice) and it tastes so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I just ate this with my family and everyone thought it was great! The only comment my mom had was that she would've added a little salt, but she could just sprinkle some on at the table. I added chickpeas, but think it would've been just fine by itself as well. Easy to make, and I would reccomend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States