Indian Peanut Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
einfach toll ---really good -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Wonderful flavor! Easy to prepare; great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Not as good as I expected it to be. Way too much water for the rice (cook according to package), and the stew itself is sort of bland. I would want it to be a little soupier and more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
given the fact that everyone else loved this, I'm wondering if it's something I did, but I did not like this at all. In fact, it wasn't even edible and the whole thing got tossed. I agree with another reviewer that the flavors just didn't blend....kinda like putting a stewed tomato on a peanut butter sandwich. I followed the recipe exactly without any modifications. I don't know. I always say you should try for yourself though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyassy
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
good stuff, very easy! loved all the ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyassy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This is a good recipe, but it's VERY rich and quite filling. It had a very strong peanut butter and ginger taste; next time I will use less of both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Great dish! I added some chickpeas as one reviewer suggested, about a teaspoon of roasted cumin, a dash of paprika, salt to taste, as well as about 1/4 cup of coconut milk. Instead of rice, I served it with naan (indian flatbread) and it was a real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I thought this recipe was incredibly easy and totally delicious! The blend of flavors was unique, but it had a tremendous taste! With so few ingredients, I thought it might not be so rich, but the taste was tops! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Bradley-Dryer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Freeport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This recipe is very good. As others commented, it looks like a strange combination, but there is something addictive about these flavours together. The fact that the ingredients are very low cost is an added bonus. I am giving this 4 stars only because I made a few minor changes that I think added to the recipe. I used some extra tomatoes (about 1/2 a can) and that toned down the over powering flavour of the peanut butter that others had commmented on. I also topped it with chopped peanuts (I didn't have chunky peanut butter) and some sliced green onion. I added just a couple of shakes of salt and probably 2-3 tablespoons of dried cilantro for colour. Lastly, I added chickpeas to make it an all in one meal. This will definitely make it into my regular rotation. Thanks Hoolie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura MacLean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Good recipe! I thought it sounded strange but like it had possibilities. So, on the strength of the reviews, I made it without making any changes. It was surprisingly good and incredibly easy. My whole family loved it. It would also be good with chicken added, also maybe some spinach or carrots, maybe even some golden raisins. I'll have to try it next time - the family wolfed it down, so there isn't any left to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASUISSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States