Indian Peanut Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
We are avoiding sugar for 3 weeks so I threw about half a cup of raw peanuts in our bullet and used that instead of peanut butter. I used about 1 T fresh ginger and 1.5 tsp of powdered ginger. This was very delicious and we put it all over some spinach as someone else suggested. It was not too spicy at all; I would probably add a little bit more the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Easy and inexpensive to make, but not for me. Looks unappetizing and I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFlott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
1 cup of peanut butter was way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Overhiser
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This recipe might be worthy of two stars if you were to cut the amount of peanut butter in half. Unfortunately, I didn't, so it was nothing more than a waste of time. If you plan on taking this recipe as it is, have your trash can nearby, because that's where you're likely to dump the entire meal once you've tasted the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I wanted a thicker stew so I used 3 cups of vegetable broth instead of six cups of water and only used a quarter of an onion. I also used about 1/8 cup of soy sauce and 1/8 cup of raw honey and crushed red pepper flakes and a few sprinkles of curry powder. It tasted like it was from a thai restaurant. I poured it over cooked shrimp and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This was really yummy, although rich. Per some other reviewers, I added in a can of drained chickpeas. Since I thought it was really "thick", I added in a large, diced tomato as well. Served with rice, sprinkled with cilantro, and hubby liked it! Next time, I will halve the amount of peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
OK, the pinkish color of this dish is a little weird but my family, for the most part, enjoyed this dish. The kids went back for seconds. The biggest complaint was that it was way too thick. We used Adam's All Natural Peanut Butter. Next time I want to try adding a bit of coconut milk as one reviewer suggested. Looking forward to trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was fantastic - I modified it a little. I added a heaping 1/3 tsp of cayenne pepper - and 3/4 cup of peanut butter. It was very, very good. I'm going to make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Really yummy! I skipped the cayenne since I have 2 smally kids but it was still so good. I also added a splash of soy sauce once I turned off the heat. I served over rice with FRESH basil on top. Its a keeper. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is a very weird dish. It's very fatty and oily because of the peanut butter, which makes it feel kind of decadent to eat. The flavor is just... well, it seems very Americanized. It was edible, but I won't make it a second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States