Indian Naan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
These turned out quite well. The addition of yogurt to the mix gave the naans a tangy taste that other recipes don't have. I found that it was important to preheat the grill for at least 10 minutes before attempting to cook the breads, and not to use a silverstone-coated baking sheet (the intense heat may damage it). By the way, kalonji is known better in the West as nigella, but may also be found at German delis either as 'black caraway' or 'schwarzkummel', or in Jewish delis as 'charnushka'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
My husband really thought this was great Naan but I was slightly disappointed. The texture was a bit off from what I've had in Indian restaurants and I agree with another reviewer that it just wasn't very fluffy. Next time I'd roll each one out a bit thicker. Also for those reading the recipe for the first time, Ghee is a form of butter that is near the consistancy of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This is a great recipe. Super easy and authentic tasting results! I mixed the ingredients using the dough setting on my bread machine,which also sped up the rising time. As a huge fan of Indian food I will use this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
These came out well! The only thing I did different was add a bit more salt and cook them in a hot pan coated with a bit of oil. My first naan didn't bubble (perhaps too thick). I rolled the rest super thin and got excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMAGOJI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
I picked this recipe because of the other reviews, but I was SO disappointed!!! I followed the recipe to a "T", and while it tasted fine, the bread was hard and flat. It never rose up in the oven. It rose up fine as dough, so it wasn't my yeast. And even have tired arms from kneading it as was told!! .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
I am from the Netherlands and a friend from the USA showed me this site. I was looking for a recipe of Naan for a long long time. This 1 is great!! Very tastfull and soft and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This Naan was fantastic!! Soft and fluffy, with a great texture, and went perfect with the Easy Indian Butter Chicken recipe off this site. I didn't have access to a grill or oven, so I fried each piece of Naan one at a time in a frying pan and they bubbled up perfectly. I rolled out each piece to about a quarter of an inch thick, perhaps those who found the bread to be too tough rolled it out too thinly. This is my favorite naan recipe, and I have tried making it with various substitutions (milk instead of yogurt, olive oil for ghee, garlic and garam masala instead of onion seed, no seasonings, etc.) and it always comes out delicious. I find I have the best results when I use one cup of bread flour with one cup of all purpose flour, the added gluten gives the Naan a really nice texture perfect for sponging up curries and sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARBUCKJB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2000
i made these but shaped them in the traditional tear-drop shape. great tasting bread! thanks. will definately make them again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I've never made Naan before and this was amazing. The texture was perfect. I used butter in place of the ghee and fried on the stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
These were very authentic-tasting and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States