Indian Naan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2000
i made these but shaped them in the traditional tear-drop shape. great tasting bread! thanks. will definately make them again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
I am from the Netherlands and a friend from the USA showed me this site. I was looking for a recipe of Naan for a long long time. This 1 is great!! Very tastfull and soft and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
These were very authentic-tasting and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
not quite as soft and fluffy as I was expecting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This is a great recipe. Super easy and authentic tasting results! I mixed the ingredients using the dough setting on my bread machine,which also sped up the rising time. As a huge fan of Indian food I will use this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
My husband really thought this was great Naan but I was slightly disappointed. The texture was a bit off from what I've had in Indian restaurants and I agree with another reviewer that it just wasn't very fluffy. Next time I'd roll each one out a bit thicker. Also for those reading the recipe for the first time, Ghee is a form of butter that is near the consistancy of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Very easy and tasty. I serve them with Easy Masoor Daal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
I picked this recipe because of the other reviews, but I was SO disappointed!!! I followed the recipe to a "T", and while it tasted fine, the bread was hard and flat. It never rose up in the oven. It rose up fine as dough, so it wasn't my yeast. And even have tired arms from kneading it as was told!! .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Good recipe. To add to another review - Ghee is clarified butter. Don't substitute for oil...Ghee makes it authentic. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
These turned out quite well. The addition of yogurt to the mix gave the naans a tangy taste that other recipes don't have. I found that it was important to preheat the grill for at least 10 minutes before attempting to cook the breads, and not to use a silverstone-coated baking sheet (the intense heat may damage it). By the way, kalonji is known better in the West as nigella, but may also be found at German delis either as 'black caraway' or 'schwarzkummel', or in Jewish delis as 'charnushka'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States