Indian Naan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
These came out well! The only thing I did different was add a bit more salt and cook them in a hot pan coated with a bit of oil. My first naan didn't bubble (perhaps too thick). I rolled the rest super thin and got excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMAGOJI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Delicious naan, but it's hard to get it flat enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
These turned out quite well. The addition of yogurt to the mix gave the naans a tangy taste that other recipes don't have. I found that it was important to preheat the grill for at least 10 minutes before attempting to cook the breads, and not to use a silverstone-coated baking sheet (the intense heat may damage it). By the way, kalonji is known better in the West as nigella, but may also be found at German delis either as 'black caraway' or 'schwarzkummel', or in Jewish delis as 'charnushka'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Good recipe. To add to another review - Ghee is clarified butter. Don't substitute for oil...Ghee makes it authentic. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
I picked this recipe because of the other reviews, but I was SO disappointed!!! I followed the recipe to a "T", and while it tasted fine, the bread was hard and flat. It never rose up in the oven. It rose up fine as dough, so it wasn't my yeast. And even have tired arms from kneading it as was told!! .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Very easy and tasty. I serve them with Easy Masoor Daal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
My husband really thought this was great Naan but I was slightly disappointed. The texture was a bit off from what I've had in Indian restaurants and I agree with another reviewer that it just wasn't very fluffy. Next time I'd roll each one out a bit thicker. Also for those reading the recipe for the first time, Ghee is a form of butter that is near the consistancy of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This is a great recipe. Super easy and authentic tasting results! I mixed the ingredients using the dough setting on my bread machine,which also sped up the rising time. As a huge fan of Indian food I will use this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
not quite as soft and fluffy as I was expecting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
These were very authentic-tasting and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States