Indian Naan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
So easy to make and tastes great! I used vegetable oil instead of ghee and garlic powder instead of kalonji (I went to an Indian grocery store and they didn't have onion seed). I baked the Naan in the oven at 400degrees. I placed the baking sheet in the oven while it was preheating so the baking sheet was nice and hot. I then cooked the Naan for 10min flipping them half way through (on the middle rack). Turned out great! Everyone loved them and keep asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Very good even the next day it's soft. I didn't have the yogurt so I replaced it with almond milk. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kris
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I maixed the dough in the bread machine. The kids really like this for their hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Great. I used oil instead of ghee and just some garlic powder. I think it should say on the grill? Anyhow, I cooked them on my griddle at 450 degrees and it took about 4 minutes per side but they came out quite nice. They don't reheat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aijiesi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I made these using my Cuisinart mixer, so easy and they are delicious. The recipe makes 6 hand sized breads. I didn't have onion seeds but it didn't matter. My husband didn't believe these were homemade. They freeze really well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Great recipe. My husband has wanted me to find a recipe for naan and I tried many of them. This one is the keeper and thank you for sharing. Just one note: the recipe says cook one at a time. Listen to the recipe so they cook evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta Zadeh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Easy to prepare. I used vegetable oil instead of ghee. I cooked on a grill pan on my stove. Served with Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sauk Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I followed the recipe directions to a T but found the dough too loose. I would use 1/3 cup water instead of 2/3 cup and reduce the salt to 1/2 tea spoon. The oven temp. should be 500 degrees or higher and keep the tray high up, as if broiling. I think this recipe has some promise if a few changes are made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This naan recipe was very tasty. However, I didn't think 2 cups of flour was enough. The dough was sticky and getting stuck to my fingers. As I was kneading the dough, I sprinkled more flour into the mixing bowl, until it was the right consistenty. This was my first time making naan, and I was pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiesncream

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This wound up being pretty flat. The taste was good, but it certainly did not remind me of Naan. I wonder if the 5 minutes kneading was too much or if it needed a second rising?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States