Indian Naan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Very delicious. I used butter for ghee and cumin seeds for kalonji. I baked them in 450 degree preheated oven on the sprayed cookie sheets. Fantastic recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Great recipe. I did use my bread machine to make the dough. Proofed the yeast first of all, adding to the bread machine along with the ghee and yoghurt followed by the dry ingredients. I did find the dough very sticky when it came out of the machine, so needed lots more flour to be kneaded into it. Did not have the Kalonjo so used dried onions instead. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I used butter instead of ghee and next time will add onion powder because I couldn't find kalonji. I experimented with both cooking it in the oven and on the stove and had better luck with the oven. I heated the oven to 400F (make sure to preheat) and baked them for about 5 min on the middle rack. Before baking I brushed on some olive oil and fresh minced garlic. After baking I sprinkled on corse sea salt and a bit of cumin. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCarlotta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Not very good at all. Ive eaten alot of naan in my day. This was not one of my favourites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Awesome! And way easier than I thought it would be, even though I had to make my own ghee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hotstuff4me
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I tired this a few days ago and it turned out beautiful. This recipe is a keeper for sure and I will be making this again and again and again! I have posted a picture of how my naans turned out. They were so soft and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Benicia, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I've just recently gotten into Indian food so I'd been looking for a good naan recipe. I made this last night to go with my chana masala, and I wasn't disappointed. I didn't have any yogurt,so I had to use fat-free mayo,but they still turned out quite well. I would recommend this recipe to anyone searching for good naan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Otter Creek, Florida, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
great! I used mostly whole wheat flour too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn Cotter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This recipe is absolutely delicious. I use the fast active dry yeast and skip letting the dough rest for 1 1/2 hours. After kneading the dough I divide and roll out my pieces and let them rest for about 10 minutes. I melt butter on a non-stick frying pan and fry each naan a few minutes on each side until browned and cooked through. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This Naan was fantastic!! Soft and fluffy, with a great texture, and went perfect with the Easy Indian Butter Chicken recipe off this site. I didn't have access to a grill or oven, so I fried each piece of Naan one at a time in a frying pan and they bubbled up perfectly. I rolled out each piece to about a quarter of an inch thick, perhaps those who found the bread to be too tough rolled it out too thinly. This is my favorite naan recipe, and I have tried making it with various substitutions (milk instead of yogurt, olive oil for ghee, garlic and garam masala instead of onion seed, no seasonings, etc.) and it always comes out delicious. I find I have the best results when I use one cup of bread flour with one cup of all purpose flour, the added gluten gives the Naan a really nice texture perfect for sponging up curries and sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARBUCKJB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States