Indian Naan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I've tried a few recipes for naan and this one is my favorite (next to the real thing made in our favorite Indian restaurant!). The yogurt gives it a nice tang and great texture. I make the dough in my bread machine, then grill it as the recipe says. yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This recipe is fairly good but, I have made my own alterations to the toppings: Instead of onion seeds, I put chopped onions and minced garlic on them, this gave them a flavour boost. Do not use tangly yogurt, best to use yogurt a day or two old, so not fresh and not old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I make this recipe all of the time, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This was awesome. I took suggestions and pan cooked it and they came out great.... The few changes i made was to add 1/4 tsp more salt and I grated garlic into the mixture before adding the yeast. A little trick if you cook on the pan is to cover the naan with a lid till your flip it. This way you can get the bubbles. My only complaint was that they did not rise the way restaurant naan does. But that my be because i pan cooked instead of bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Amazing recipe - so soft and yummy! The ghee can be purchased pretty cheap on Amazon, and it makes a difference so I suggest using it. It doesnt have to be refrigerated, so you can store it in your cupboard like cristco but its healthier and tastes like butter, just lighter in flavor and texture. A broil on high in the oven works great, just turn it when it starts to get brown. A must have with hummus, or can make a sweet treat by topping with jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This is a pretty good recipe and it comes out almost like our favourite restaurant! We follow the recipe exactly, but brush with melted butter before and after grilling to make butter naan, just like the restaurant! My husband and I make these together - he rolls while I grill and brush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
my husband often makes this bread and it is wonderful! we even use it to make bread rolls :) add caraway seed for an extra kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cupcake Princess
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
We served this tender and flavorful naan with vegetable curry. I baked the naan breads on a greased baking sheet in a 450 degree oven for a about 7 minutes and they turned out great. To add more flavor I mixed together 2 tablespoons of melted ghee, 1 tablespoon of chopped cilantro, and 2 minced garlic cloves and brushed that on top of the breads just before baking them. We didn't have any kalonji so I left it out. Thanks for the great and very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Mine didn't taste like naan. And it didn't puff up too much neither.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Love Indian Naan, but never thought it would be so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States