Indian Naan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
first off i halved the recipe.. (fyi im still learning how to do breads).. first one was too thick.. the other two were better.. i forgot half the ghee (i used butter) and i dont know if that would have made the diff.. they still tasted good and went well with our indian dinner.. ty for the simple recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Didn't have ghee, so I used half butter/half olive oil instead. Threw all the ingredients in the bread machine on dough cycle to have it do the rising/etc. When it was done, I cut the dough into 6, rolled them out, and cooked them in the broiler, since I didn't have a grill. Close enough to the naan at the Indian restaurant, and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Easy and very tasty. Substituted plain butter for ghee and cooked on the stovetop (about 1 min or 1.5 min per side) and it worked great. Will try adding garlic for garlic naan next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne B-A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This was really easy and very good. My husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Johnson Jeffs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Good naan. Nothing special but overall, easy to make and simple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I couldn't wait to bake this bread! Most reviews seemed great, the dough was HEAVENLY to work with, it rose properly, everything seemed perfectly aligned and I was sure I would have fabulous tasting naan... Well, something went wrong because my naan was flat and the texture wasn't right at all. It was flaky instead of chewy. It still tasted good but it wasn't naan. I am not sure what it is that some people are doing right and others are doing wrong because it seems like most people who are reviewing are saying that the texture is great but then there are a few of us who report that their bread doesn't rise (though the dough rises so it's not a problem with the yeast). I DID have to substitute sour cream for yogurt because I'm on an island and couldn't find yogurt so I guess it's possible this is what went wrong with mine but I've substituted sour cream and buttermilk for yogurt in breads before and never had problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
awesome recipe!! though it takes quite some time its worth it..!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Good recipe...not as tangy as some recipes I have tried, which in my book is good. Some reviewers stated "the bread wasn't very fluffy", that has to do with the type of flour and not so much the thickness, although that does help. Next time try using bread flour, it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Nice! Addictive bread! I will share this recipe with friends and family alike..easy to make? Had to get help kneading since I am a rookie from my mom..but well worth the work..thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
It's alright. The bread isn't terribly fluffy, and when done in a pan instead of on a grill it tastes a bit doughy. But the dough is easy to make and work with, and rolls easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States