Indian Naan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Amazing! So easy to make, and just what we needed with our curry tonight. I didn't have yogurt, but sour cream worked. And I made our's plain, no seeds on top. I will make this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Have tried a few different recipes, but this will be my go-to. I also subbed melted butter for the ghee, as some other folks did, and have finally found success. I mixed the kalonji in with the flour, so they didn't all fall off later, and found that this worked better for me. Don't skip them -- they make the dish! Since it was raining, I used a dry skillet instead of grilling. My husband liked this recipe better than the naan we get at our favorite Indian restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
good. I made them a little too thik. try thinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Great texture, easy, good flavor! I need to maybe do one with garlic for extra flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
first off i halved the recipe.. (fyi im still learning how to do breads).. first one was too thick.. the other two were better.. i forgot half the ghee (i used butter) and i dont know if that would have made the diff.. they still tasted good and went well with our indian dinner.. ty for the simple recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Didn't have ghee, so I used half butter/half olive oil instead. Threw all the ingredients in the bread machine on dough cycle to have it do the rising/etc. When it was done, I cut the dough into 6, rolled them out, and cooked them in the broiler, since I didn't have a grill. Close enough to the naan at the Indian restaurant, and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Easy and very tasty. Substituted plain butter for ghee and cooked on the stovetop (about 1 min or 1.5 min per side) and it worked great. Will try adding garlic for garlic naan next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne B-A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This was really easy and very good. My husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michellej08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Good naan. Nothing special but overall, easy to make and simple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I couldn't wait to bake this bread! Most reviews seemed great, the dough was HEAVENLY to work with, it rose properly, everything seemed perfectly aligned and I was sure I would have fabulous tasting naan... Well, something went wrong because my naan was flat and the texture wasn't right at all. It was flaky instead of chewy. It still tasted good but it wasn't naan. I am not sure what it is that some people are doing right and others are doing wrong because it seems like most people who are reviewing are saying that the texture is great but then there are a few of us who report that their bread doesn't rise (though the dough rises so it's not a problem with the yeast). I DID have to substitute sour cream for yogurt because I'm on an island and couldn't find yogurt so I guess it's possible this is what went wrong with mine but I've substituted sour cream and buttermilk for yogurt in breads before and never had problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States