Indian Naan I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Naan? This makes a superb free-form flour tortilla. Definately not worth the trouble if you are really interested in making naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
This is really easy and relatively quick to make, compared to other Naan recipes. Although not quite authentic, it is really good and even my picky daughter will eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
okay for a substitute, but they did not taste or have the texture of naan. Presentation is still pretty good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
Made good tortillas but not fluffy naan. I don't own a bread machine, so I mixed the ingredients and then kneeded using a KitchenAid with a bread hook. Also didn't have clarified butter, so I used softened, unsalted butter instead. Tried the recipe three times. The first time, I used white, unbleached flour. The second time, I used 50% white, unbleached flour and 50% whole wheat flour. Didn't rise quite as much, and needed a little more water. Had a more interesting flavor though. The third time, I went back to the unbleached white flour, replaced the 2 tbs butter with 2 tbs of olive oil, and added a tablespoon of milk. After kneeding, I let the dough double in size before quartering. This naan rose the most in the oven, but still was more like tortillas than naan. The recipe suggests rolling the dough as thin as possible before baking. I recommend experimenting with the thickness. Sometimes the dough puffed up more if it was it was left a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
I needed to cook the naan bread for about two minutes to achieve the right consistency. This would be wonderful served with curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I never in a jillion years thought that I could make naan. It came out fantastic!! Good thing too, because the rest of my Indian-inspired dinner wasn't so great - so we basically ate all the naan instead. I will be making this again. Oh - so easy if you use your kitchenaid to mix, too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2001
A lovely recipe! I replaced ghee with garlic oil (same amount) and sprinkled the top with crushed garlic. Unfortunately, the bread was very tasteless (ghee gives it more taste I think), so next time I have to double the amount of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
I have made this wonderful receipe for my picky eaters and they love it. We serve it with gyro seasoned lamb and cucumber dressing ... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States