Indian Fish Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This came out great, though 2 tsp of cayenne seemed to overpower the flavor for my wife and I. It wasn't "too spicy" for us to handle, rather the spiciness of the cayenne seemed to eclipse the flavor of the other seasonings. I'll use 1 tsp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruien

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Thanks! I used cod for the fish. I did not marinate the fish, but did add the mustard and black pepper to the curry. I also used chili powder in place of cumin because I was out of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This recipe rocks!!!! Fool proof and delicious. Spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I definitely will make again. Loved the aroma and the healthy benefits. Didn’t change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillypoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I made this last night and hubby and I loved it! Very spicy but we love our foods hot. Very easy to make. I did add about extra 1/2 tsp. of sugar and increased the amount of tomatoes (I used 1 can of diced tomatoes with liquid (I subbed that for the vegetable broth) and two fresh tomatoes chopped). We will definitely be making this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Both my husband and I enjoyed this dish. It is quite spicy, but the spice doesn't linger for very long. I didn't have Dijon Mustard so I used the closest thing to mustard in my fridge-> Trader Joe's Aioli Mustard Garlic Sauce. I also didn't have cayenne, so I used 2 teaspoons of red chilli flakes. I made some quinoa on the side and it went really well with this. In fact, I also mixed the quinoa with the fish curry and stuffed it into some crisp taco shells (also from Trader Joes) - was delicious! Note: When I fried the onion-garlic-ginger mixture it turned green! Did this happen to anyone else? I read online that this is normal/safe (i'll let you know if I experience otherwise, I just had the curry 10 min ago), and is due to chemicals in the garlic. As a science teacher I'm always looking out for cool food-chemistry demos, and this recipe helped me uncover this one. It also ended up making my curry look green instead of yellow, which gave it a nice look I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Wow! Amazing flavor and much less work that it initially looks like. I cut the cayenne down to 1 tsp and it was still fiery enough to cause the sniffles. I can't believe how rich and complex the flavor was. I'm saving this one, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
A tad too hot for my husbands taste buds. I will cut cayenne in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Mixed reviews from my family. Daughter loved, I disliked them, & my hubs was so-so but wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
this was so delicious but i did heed the warning given by the other reviewers about the heat.. so i halved the cayenne.. i used a pound of red snapper for the white fish fillets.. instead of making a paste out of everything.. i just sauteed the seasonings with the oil and added sliced onion and the roughly chopped garlic.. once it became fragrant i added the broth and double amount of tomatoes.. unfortunately i only had powdered ginger and no cashews.. halved the sugar.. and put the baked result on a flour tortilla with Cucumber-Cilantro Raita (from this site) on top.. blame the californian in us.. we so loved it.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States