Indian Fish Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
i never made indian food before, i always thought it was difficult. this was delicious and easy to do. i dont have a food processor so i just grated the ginger, chopped the onion/garlic very finely and used cashew butter instead of whole cashews. beware, this recipe is very, very spicy. i usually order an 8 or 9 at an indian restaurant, and this fish was right up there. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was execellent. Followed recipe and bake time. Restaurant quality - I will be making again but with cheaper fish - I bought Halibut and this would be equally good on red snapper. I also used the full amount of Cayenne pepper as I love hot food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
this is the best fish recipe I have ever consumed! It's fantastic. I had 4 or 5 fillets so I doubled the dijon sauce for the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I didn't use ginger root or cashews since I didn't have any. I also substituted olive oil for canola oil. This came out nice and spicy! It takes an incredible amount of spice for me to taste or feel the heat. Anyways I tasted the heat in this dish. It wasn't too spicy for me but I can imagine it might cause some panic attacks for those more sensitive to heat. I definitely will be cooking this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was outstanding and pretty easy. We used halibut which is so mild that it really needs some strong flavors to go with it. We will definitely make this again but with less cayenne (probably 1/2" tsp). I did double the cashews and cooked the onion longer so that they would be softer and a golden color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
The house smelled wonderful! I used mahi mahi fillets. Scared it would be too hot, I used 1/2 tsp cayenne and 1/2 tsp. madras curry powder. Served with rice and steamed spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Had a friend of ours over for dinner who is new to America (he was born and raised in India) and he said I was spot on with this, but to him it was fairly mild. For us it was pretty spicy though. I should note that I did not add the mustard. I marinated the fish in a turmeric/garlic paste with a little salt and pepper. (Food processor, few drops of water and oil and then blend) this was a tip my friend had given me when I told him what I planned to make for dinner. I also tossed in a can of green chilies and cut the cayenne pepper down to 1/2 a teaspoon. We absolutely LOVED this dish!! We served it over brown rice and finished it off completely. I can not WAIT to make this again!!! Thanks so much for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Lokerson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Awesome, even though I over-cooked the fish - I always do that :( I used Cod and subbed olive & vegetable oils for the canola. I only added about 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne, there was no way my son would be able to eat it as listed. I will definitely make this again, with a little more cashews in the paste and try not to overcook it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Crazy good! We followed the recipe exactly and it was a perfect heat for us. Note: we generally order our food at medium spice level at restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
We loved this dish! I did cut back on the cayenne to about 1 1/12 tsp and it was still hot but delicious. Also added about 3/4 cup canned diced tomatoes b/c I did not have fresh. Served this with roasted cauliflower. If you like a very flavorful curry, this is the one for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States