Indian Fish Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Very good!! Instead of cayenne pepper i added two chopped up hot peppers. Perfectly spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Very spicy and flavorful...but do not use frozen fish, gets too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I liked this recipe a lot. However, my mouth was on fire from the two teaspoons of cayenne. I know it says "2 teaspoons of cayenne or to taste," but it is probably better to write "one-half teaspoon of cayenne or to taste." It can always be added. Even so, it was delicious even with the two teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This has become my favorite tilapia recipe by far! My husband and I used to always go to Pakistani/Indian restaurants but now when we are craving that kind of food I make this. I have even made it for some Pakistani friends who said it was amazing. The flavor and amount of spices are perfect! It also looks very pretty too :) I've also made it without cashews one time because I didn't have any and couldn't taste a difference. I serve it with basmati rice. A friend of mine told me that if you want a stronger flavor/spices to simmer it down a few times (i.e. after the vegetable broth, pour a little water, let it boil/simmer for a little while until it evaporates and repeat several times). I also make it without marinating it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Delicious! I sometimes find it hard to make fish really flavorful but not so with this dish. So delicious. Received rave reviews from all who ate it. The only changes I made were substituting curry powder for the turmeric since I didn't have any on hand, eliminating the cayenne because I have small children, and I used canned diced tomatoes because it was easier. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Followed other's advice and decreased the amount of fish to about 15oz, but kept the rest of the recipe the same. I did cut down the cayenne, which was fortunate b/c my husband said it was still too spicy for him. I also left the fish to marinate overnight. There was a lot of flavor in this dish, and I will make this again. I'll remember to add veggies to this next time though. O, I almost forgot: I'm sure a lot of ppl know this, but I didn't see anyone correct the reviewer who said that there should've been curry in a recipe called "fish curry." Curry is a blend of spices, such as those listed in the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
excellent, my favorite seafood dish in a long time. It was spicy but just spicy enough for me. We enjoyed it over jasmin rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I used only 1/2 tsp cayenne, and added 1 tin coconut cream at the end to simmer the fish in. Was still very hot but manageable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Waiuku, Auckland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I like spicy food but this is not my cup of tea. It really wasn't that spicy or that tasty to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
We love this recipe. I think I'll try to reduce the amount of salt next time though. There is so much flavour that it doesn't need as much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States