Indian Eggplant - Bhurtha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
The taste of this dish is good, but the texture leaves a little to be desired. A better way to cook the eggplant is to slice it in 1" pieces, place the pieces on a paper towel, and lightly salt them. Leave them for at least a half hour (2 hours is ideal), then pat them dry. Cook them at about medium on the stove in some oil, stirring often, for about a half hour or until they lose most of their water and turn a darker color. The texture and taste of the eggplant really comes out this way. The rest of the recipe was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calabasas, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
At first i passed on this recipe because i thought it would be too much work to broil and peel. Was I wrong!!! SUPER easy recipe. We had an indian night and this by far was our favorite dish. Perfect soft consistency. Pick 2 small eggplants instaed of a large one because it will be more tender and not have the bitter flavor some eggplants get when they're too big. Perfect spices, and the onions are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Here is my version:I removed the skin on the eggplant and cut it into 1 inch rings, sprinkled it with some salt and let it sit for at least 30 min (to remove the excess water). Then I placed it in the oven and let it bake for approximately 15 min. Then i cut it into cubes and used it as dirrected. I eliminated the cumin seeds. I added 4 med tomatoes, and 3 cloves of garlic. Instead of 1/2 tsp of tumeric, i added 1 tsp of tumeric. I also added 1/2 tsp curry powder and 1/4 tsp of garam masala. I also cooked with olive oil instead of veggie oil. I also added 1/2 cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EyeDoc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This dish was a big hit. I added in curry powder instead of the cayenne pepper. My father usually doesn't like eggplant, but he helped himself to multiple servings of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I was dubious about charring the eggplant in the oven, but it turned out perfectly, and was very easy. I acutally set the broiler to 500 degrees rather than all the way up, and by the time it charred, all of the bitter juices had leached out of the eggplant and it was extremely soft (no need for pureeing to get it smooth). The flavor of this dish was very good, though I left out the fresh cilantro because I don't like it. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
this recipe was very good. usually vegetarian recipes taste as if something was missing, but this one was full of flavour! i made a few changes though. I didn't want a mushy texture so i chopped the eggplant into cubes, drizzled with oil and baked in the oven for 15-20 min. this way it takes away the bitterness and brings out the flavour. i also cubed zucchini and added it at the same time as the onions. i added a couple teaspoons of fungreek seeds, and chickpeas just to add some extra texture. my 3 year old really doesn't like veggies unless it's hidden well... and he ate this up like no tomorrow. i will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Good...I cut the eggplant in half and roasted it in the oven at 400 for 30 minutes. I also used a can of tomates with onion instead of the single tomato and ground ginger instead of fresh. Definatey low cal, but there is Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) on this website that I think I better. Thanks, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Delicious! Just the right balance of spices. Serve with a yogurt or mint sauce and enjoy it even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUNOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This is such an awesome dish. I loooooved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Great review. I recommend a few changes, however. First, I used a half a can of peeled, diced tomatoes with juice instead of fresh tomatoes. I also added curry powder (1/2 tsp) and garam masala (1/2 tsp). Next time I will add a half a cup of green peas. I also think it may be better to slow stew this over a few hours, so I'm going to try that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States