Indian Eggplant - Bhurtha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was absolutely amazing. I made it for myself, my husband and a guest yesterday and they couldn't stop raving about it! The flavors were all perfect together, the amount of heat was just right for all of us and it was easy & inexpensive to make. The fact that my husband liked it really says something, since he dislikes eggplant and hasn't liked much Indian food to this point. He wants me to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BYRDYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA
Living In: Robbinsdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blueraine91
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Delicious! This was my first time cooking a curry, and it turned out great. I love dishes with lots of veggies, so I would recommend adding chopped carrots, peas, and chickpeas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This will now be by far my favorite recipe for eggplant. I LOVED it! It was very close to excellent restaurant versions of Bengan Bartha--and when you make it yourself it's low in fat :-) I used two medium eggplants and the spices were strong, just right in my opinion. The spices need to be increased if using larger eggplants. Eggplants didn't cook properly when broiled whole, sliced in half and placed skin up on the broiler pan worked better. Also, I only got THREE helpings out of this dish (served with lots of rice) so it's definitely one to be doubled. Raita on top was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
One of the most delicious meals i've ever made! After roasting the eggplant the flavor was incredible. i used a hot pepper infused olive oil and a red curry powder in place of the individual herbs. Adding the peas was a wonderful touch and garnishing with fresh cilantro and a sprinkle of sweet currents made this a magnificent meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
was good but not what i expected. thought it would be more flavorful due to all the fun and tasty spices involved. it's missing something...will need to figure what it is and maybe it can get a higher rating. if anyone knows, please do tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janejones81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Much easier than I expected it to be. Also, my boyfriend is not really a fan of indian food, but he loved this. I also replaced the cayenne pepper with curry powder and increased the amount of fresh ginger. It was just spicy enough. I also left the onions still a bit crisp for added texture. We will definitely use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
this recipe was very good. usually vegetarian recipes taste as if something was missing, but this one was full of flavour! i made a few changes though. I didn't want a mushy texture so i chopped the eggplant into cubes, drizzled with oil and baked in the oven for 15-20 min. this way it takes away the bitterness and brings out the flavour. i also cubed zucchini and added it at the same time as the onions. i added a couple teaspoons of fungreek seeds, and chickpeas just to add some extra texture. my 3 year old really doesn't like veggies unless it's hidden well... and he ate this up like no tomorrow. i will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This eggplant is very tasty! I was afraid that the long cooking time would make the eggplant mushy so I just cubed it and added it to the saute pan after the onions were softened. The eggplant only took about 10 minutes to simmer with the tomatoes and onions. Our family really enjoyed the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Delicious, easy, and very authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashelena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Delicious! Very enjoyable. Being a bad vegetarian, I added some chicken (fried it in with the onions in 1" strips), and I think it made the texture a little more enjoyable. The spices were great, though, and we both really liked it! We'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States