Indian Eggplant - Bhurtha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
One of the most delicious meals i've ever made! After roasting the eggplant the flavor was incredible. i used a hot pepper infused olive oil and a red curry powder in place of the individual herbs. Adding the peas was a wonderful touch and garnishing with fresh cilantro and a sprinkle of sweet currents made this a magnificent meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
was good but not what i expected. thought it would be more flavorful due to all the fun and tasty spices involved. it's missing something...will need to figure what it is and maybe it can get a higher rating. if anyone knows, please do tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janejones81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Much easier than I expected it to be. Also, my boyfriend is not really a fan of indian food, but he loved this. I also replaced the cayenne pepper with curry powder and increased the amount of fresh ginger. It was just spicy enough. I also left the onions still a bit crisp for added texture. We will definitely use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
this recipe was very good. usually vegetarian recipes taste as if something was missing, but this one was full of flavour! i made a few changes though. I didn't want a mushy texture so i chopped the eggplant into cubes, drizzled with oil and baked in the oven for 15-20 min. this way it takes away the bitterness and brings out the flavour. i also cubed zucchini and added it at the same time as the onions. i added a couple teaspoons of fungreek seeds, and chickpeas just to add some extra texture. my 3 year old really doesn't like veggies unless it's hidden well... and he ate this up like no tomorrow. i will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This eggplant is very tasty! I was afraid that the long cooking time would make the eggplant mushy so I just cubed it and added it to the saute pan after the onions were softened. The eggplant only took about 10 minutes to simmer with the tomatoes and onions. Our family really enjoyed the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Delicious, easy, and very authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashelena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Delicious! Very enjoyable. Being a bad vegetarian, I added some chicken (fried it in with the onions in 1" strips), and I think it made the texture a little more enjoyable. The spices were great, though, and we both really liked it! We'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
this was good, but it wasn't particularly flavourful, or at least not what i was looking for. everyone did eat it though, and it certainly wasn't bad, but i'm going to keep looking for an eggplant recipe that i really love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Tasty! We used 2 med. eggplant though, and 1/2 can diced fire-roasted tomatoes (I think it needed the whole can) instead of a fresh tomato. Also added 1 seeded, minced jalapeno. Only added 2 dashes cayenne and it was still a little hot for me. Had to broil eggplant 45-60 min. Followed suggestions and simmered 2 hours and blended in food processor at end, texture/consistency were perfect! The spices were a little off for me, not bad but not like in the restaurant. Next time I might omit the ground cumin and add a little lemon juice & garam masala. Also I would double the recipe as the portions are small. Served it over basmati rice and mixed in a little plain yogurt at the end per another baingan bharta recipe on this website. I didn't expect to like the yogurt but I did. Oh, and I might add some peas next time. All in all definitely worth making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I'm crazy about Indian/Pakistani food, and I wanted to love this. I've never eaten anything with eggplant that I've liked but I still made this with an open mind. Sorry, but this wasn't good at all. It wasn't the flavor so much but the texture/consistency. I'm giving up on eggplant. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States