Indian Eggplant - Bhurtha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Really enjoyed this one. Made it with a side of basmati rice cooked with one can coconut milk. Definitely double this. I had myself and 5 dinner guests and with it being doubled it was not quite enough for six.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Delicious! I made this for the 1st time last night to bring to a curry party. Great reviews. I made mine spicier, but that is the way I like my curry. I have already emailed this recipe to others at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I just made this recipe for the first time and I think it turned out wonderfully! I did make a few changes because I had a bunch of baby eggplants with bad spots from my garden that I needed to use. I cut them lengthwise and wept them for roughly an hour (coat them in salt and all of the bitterness and moisture seeps out, then rinse and pat dry). I had to cut them up to get rid of the bad parts, so I chopped them and put them in casserole dish with a few garlic cloves, a cherry bomb pepper and two tiny chili peppers (seeded and diced) and coated everything in olive oil. I roasted them in the oven at 400 degrees for about half an hour, turning every 10 minutes. I followed the rest of the directions as usual except I omitted the cumin seeds, used ground ginger and chili powder instead of cayenne. I also threw in a can of peeled potatoes just because I wanted to make it more substantial. I don't really measure spices either, just throw them in to taste. Also added a pinch of garam masala and ground cardamon. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Very good. This is one of my favourite Indian dishes. Cooking the eggplant whole as described worked very well. I was going to cut it lengthwise first, but then I thought I'd just try to do it whole, as described and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
It was a fairly good flavor but it was just a bit too wet for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEPHINER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
My first eggplant recipe and I really enjoyed this. Never changed a thing, was great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was very good. It was not overly hot, but still very tasty. I served it over couscous. I added a can of mixed fava beans and chick peas which increased the protein and added an extra texture to the dish. Will definitely fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was awesome and fairly simple to make! Made it as an experiment for my boyfriend and myself before I serve it to guests and we LOVED it. The heat was a perfect amount, the flavors were outstanding, and it was all very easy and cheap to make. I will be making this recipe many many many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was absolutely amazing. I made it for myself, my husband and a guest yesterday and they couldn't stop raving about it! The flavors were all perfect together, the amount of heat was just right for all of us and it was easy & inexpensive to make. The fact that my husband liked it really says something, since he dislikes eggplant and hasn't liked much Indian food to this point. He wants me to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BYRDYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA
Living In: Robbinsdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blueraine91
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Delicious! This was my first time cooking a curry, and it turned out great. I love dishes with lots of veggies, so I would recommend adding chopped carrots, peas, and chickpeas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States