Indian Eggplant - Bhurtha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This was delicious! big breakthrough for me in my mission to figure out some vegetarian indian dishes. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Outstanding. I was out of tomatoes so I substituted 1 large roasted red pepper. I also used 1 med red onion julienned and 2 small fresh purple eggplants roasted not fried. I recommend letting the skin burn a bit, I also allowed the eggplant to cool and drain before dicing it up. I finished cooking it and my 14 year old daughter came floating into the kitchen with a euphoric look on her face (she's my most discerning taster), and said, "Dad, what is that smell....hmmmmmmmmmm." I said, "here, try it." (she claims to "Hate" eggplant). I gave her a fat forkful of this with a big chunk of eggplant and her face melted into bliss producing, after a few resonating moments a satisfied smile. I said, "what do you think?" She said, "it's amazing." I said, "thank you, I'm glad to see that you have an appreciation for eggplant." her mouth dropped and her eyes opened wide and she said,"are you serious? this is eggplant?" I said, "that's right kiddo, thank you for being open and willing." This was a big hit and is in my list of staple meals that we eat regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Really enjoyed this one. Made it with a side of basmati rice cooked with one can coconut milk. Definitely double this. I had myself and 5 dinner guests and with it being doubled it was not quite enough for six.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Delicious! I made this for the 1st time last night to bring to a curry party. Great reviews. I made mine spicier, but that is the way I like my curry. I have already emailed this recipe to others at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I just made this recipe for the first time and I think it turned out wonderfully! I did make a few changes because I had a bunch of baby eggplants with bad spots from my garden that I needed to use. I cut them lengthwise and wept them for roughly an hour (coat them in salt and all of the bitterness and moisture seeps out, then rinse and pat dry). I had to cut them up to get rid of the bad parts, so I chopped them and put them in casserole dish with a few garlic cloves, a cherry bomb pepper and two tiny chili peppers (seeded and diced) and coated everything in olive oil. I roasted them in the oven at 400 degrees for about half an hour, turning every 10 minutes. I followed the rest of the directions as usual except I omitted the cumin seeds, used ground ginger and chili powder instead of cayenne. I also threw in a can of peeled potatoes just because I wanted to make it more substantial. I don't really measure spices either, just throw them in to taste. Also added a pinch of garam masala and ground cardamon. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Very good. This is one of my favourite Indian dishes. Cooking the eggplant whole as described worked very well. I was going to cut it lengthwise first, but then I thought I'd just try to do it whole, as described and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
It was a fairly good flavor but it was just a bit too wet for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEPHINER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
My first eggplant recipe and I really enjoyed this. Never changed a thing, was great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was very good. It was not overly hot, but still very tasty. I served it over couscous. I added a can of mixed fava beans and chick peas which increased the protein and added an extra texture to the dish. Will definitely fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was awesome and fairly simple to make! Made it as an experiment for my boyfriend and myself before I serve it to guests and we LOVED it. The heat was a perfect amount, the flavors were outstanding, and it was all very easy and cheap to make. I will be making this recipe many many many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States