Indian Eggplant - Bhurtha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was quite good! I never broiled an eggplant before; it was very easy and turned out a great texture. Though next time I might use 2 eggplants or a larger one since I thought there could be more. The only modifications I made had to deal with quantities. Doubled all the spices and the ginger and garlic for my own taste. Ixnayed the cilantro since I don't like it. But all the flavors are there to begin with. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Great recipe and quicker than salting the eggplant. If you aren't comfortable cooking with spices - this may not come out right the first time ** I highly recommend using fresh ingredients and spices to get the full flavor :) I used a red onion instead, and added a sliced serrano about two minutes before it was done, then set the flame on low and covered to add some spice throughout. Make sure to put spices directly onto the hot oiled pan before folding it into the rest of the dish to bring out the flavor. Covering the dish at the very end on a low flame will help moisten the dish if it's too dry and eggplant isn't reducing (see more about this below) About the eggplant - I put the oven on 375 for 30 min. and was a little impatient and didn't wait for the skin to blister, albeit it was very easy to get the meat out (will use a higher temp next time) - easy solution is to cut the eggplant in long slices when cooking and at the very end cover with flame on low and smash everything down once it's nice and soft. **If this didn't come out right for you with the level of spice - I recommend practicing with everyday dishes. Breakfast eggs and potatoes are my guinea pig with Indian spices and ingredients ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
we love indian food so this totally worked for us.. didn't broil the eggplant.. cubed and left the skin on and roasted in the oven at 400 for half an hour.. followed the recipe after that.. only had ground cumin, no seeds so i skipped that step.. didn't feel it needed the cilantro.. bf agrees that this dish stands on it's own.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Wonderful each time I make it. I almost double the seasonings and the hubby loves, loves, loves it. Picky child on the other hand says its too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pilot Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Super easy to make and absolutely delicious! I used olive oil instead and added a cup of peas. I didn't bother peeling or de-seeding the tomato, just chopped it up and turned out great! SO is not a fan of indian food but loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I was very happy with this recipe. My boyfriend was very impressed when I made it for him. I saved the recipe and I would definitely make it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Definitely the easiest and most flavorful recipe i have made thus far -- i don't know how it tasted so good, it was so easy.. plus i could make this to keep as a pasta sauce, throw in some lemon juice and capers and it's heavenly on pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Good flavor, easy (the eggplant just falls off of the skin), pretty healthy, enough for leftovers. I made it without the whole cumin and with canned tomatoes and it was lovely. Also used the peas, which added to the texture and were pretty against the red tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Amazing! Eggplant is something I stay away from at the super market because I haven't found an easy enough way to cook it. With this recipe, a brief broil and peel makes this dish a keeper. The seasonings can be tweaked a bit for flair and heat. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cow

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Tasty..could probably go heavier on the spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States