Indian Eggplant - Bhurtha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Prepared this dish the day before serving - waited to add fresh ginger until the day of serving at reheat ingredient changes: added Zucchini; couldn't find cumin seeds or cilantro, so didn't use them. Preparation changes - eggplant removed the skin on 2 medium eggplants and cut it into 1 inch rings, sprinkled with some salt and let it sit for at least 30 min (to remove the excess water). cubed the eggplant drizzled it with olive oil and put it in the oven and let it bake for approximately 15 min. Meanwhile I cooked the onions, cubed zucchini (1) and other spices listed; then followed the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saj Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westtown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Landstuhl, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Just made this for dinner tonight and it was a hit. The only modifications that I made were to add additional garlic and turmeric. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dherting

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This is a great recipe! I made it just as it says, and it turned out wonderfully. I think next time I will bbq the eggplant to give it more of a smoky flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by miguel
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I am not an Indian but enjoys Indian dishes and and enjoy cooking their dishes as well. I have done this before and as traditionally prepared, I roasted the eggplants on open flame (using my gas stove) until the skin turns black / charred but the insides are evenly soft. Instead of cayenne pepper, I use chili powder. I had the time to prepare it again tonight for dinner, and I have attached a photo of the outcome. Best eaten with roti (Indian flatbread), or similarly a tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This recipe was my first attempt at cooking Indian food. The pressure was on, as my boyfriend and I were attending a party with about 20 Indians, who turned out to all be amazing cooks! With a "rehearsal dinner" making sure the taste was just right, when I chose to add peas the second time, I cooked this, I only had to add a bit more of the spice mix and the flavor mix came out just right (the sweetness of the peas compliments the heat really well). The dish was a big hit at the party, and I'm about to cook it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Very good recipe. I modified the recipe a little by adding one chopped and boiled potatoe, 1/2 teaspoon pav bhaji masala, 1/4 teaspoon curry leaf powder and finally mashing the dish a little. It felt downright yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I've been making this recipe since I first found it some time ago. It's delicious as written. Today I wanted to make it but didn't have any fresh tomato's so I used a can of diced tomato's with their juice. Still delicious. I always add a small dollop of sour cream to each bowl before serving and a couple of drops of lime juice. Thank you so much, Simmig, for one of my favourite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Seriously, I was convinced this was a disaster until the moment I tasted it; had a great spice & legitimately tasted like an Indian eggplant dish (please excuse my ignorance. I grew up in an area with a large Indian & Pakistani population & have always loved their food, but have never been good with names of dishes outside of the basics).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Fontasi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This recipe is absolutely fabulous! I always double, because there is never enough. Better then in most Indian restaurants in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
So tasty! It was so much eaiser than I thought I was going to be, to cook the eggplant- the skin peels right off! The flavor was great, not too spicy but enough of all the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States