Indian Eggplant - Bhurtha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
I did not have cumin seeds so I used ground instead. This was so good. I will be making it again and again. I cannot wait to share is with my daughter who is vegetarian. This she will really enjoy. The flavour is outstanding. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
This recipe was divine!!! The flavour was amazing,the only thing that I didn't use was the cilantro because I'm not a fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
This was wonderful! I must admit alone, it is a little overpowering to a sensitive pallet but I served it with basmati rice and a dollop of light sour cream (plain yogurt would work well too!) and it mellowed it enough to make it amazing. A few people said it needed more salt but a few said it was fine as directed. Salt is a personal taste in my opinion so the way it is written is good. Salt can always be added but not taken away right? Oh and I went with the option to add peas, any reason to add more veggies is good with me. I have to remember this recipe. Affordable and easy AND yummy! Can't beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I loved this. I doubled the recipe - I doubled everything except for the onion, which I still used one of. I didn't have any cumin seeds so I skipped that step. My husband thought the ginger taste was too strong, but I disagreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Prepared this dish the day before serving - waited to add fresh ginger until the day of serving at reheat ingredient changes: added Zucchini; couldn't find cumin seeds or cilantro, so didn't use them. Preparation changes - eggplant removed the skin on 2 medium eggplants and cut it into 1 inch rings, sprinkled with some salt and let it sit for at least 30 min (to remove the excess water). cubed the eggplant drizzled it with olive oil and put it in the oven and let it bake for approximately 15 min. Meanwhile I cooked the onions, cubed zucchini (1) and other spices listed; then followed the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saj Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westtown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Landstuhl, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Just made this for dinner tonight and it was a hit. The only modifications that I made were to add additional garlic and turmeric. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dherting

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This is a great recipe! I made it just as it says, and it turned out wonderfully. I think next time I will bbq the eggplant to give it more of a smoky flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by miguel
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I am not an Indian but enjoys Indian dishes and and enjoy cooking their dishes as well. I have done this before and as traditionally prepared, I roasted the eggplants on open flame (using my gas stove) until the skin turns black / charred but the insides are evenly soft. Instead of cayenne pepper, I use chili powder. I had the time to prepare it again tonight for dinner, and I have attached a photo of the outcome. Best eaten with roti (Indian flatbread), or similarly a tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This recipe was my first attempt at cooking Indian food. The pressure was on, as my boyfriend and I were attending a party with about 20 Indians, who turned out to all be amazing cooks! With a "rehearsal dinner" making sure the taste was just right, when I chose to add peas the second time, I cooked this, I only had to add a bit more of the spice mix and the flavor mix came out just right (the sweetness of the peas compliments the heat really well). The dish was a big hit at the party, and I'm about to cook it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Very good recipe. I modified the recipe a little by adding one chopped and boiled potatoe, 1/2 teaspoon pav bhaji masala, 1/4 teaspoon curry leaf powder and finally mashing the dish a little. It felt downright yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States