Indian Dahl with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
Tried it one night when I decided to do a vegan meal for a change and yummers! What a great dish! I thoroughly enjoyed it with rice and pita bread, lightly toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
An excellent recipe, although I found it a little bland. Next time I'll add extra onions and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2001
This is a great dhal if you like spinach...I used to packages of frozen spinach and it was perfect...my wife and I loved it and it was not to spicy...might and a little more spice next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
Great tasting and authentic as well. Easier than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
This was the first time that I've ever made dahl!I'll certainly make it again, using this recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
I was craving Indian food and made this recipe. It was awesome with a little rice and a cup of Chai (I found a concentrate in the ethnic food aisle - just heat with milk)! I'm taking half of the leftovers for lunch tomorrow and freezing the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARIKAY1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
I've been looking for a dahl recipe for awhile and this one turned out really good. I made it more of a Chana Saag though. Which means that I added more spinach and chickpeas. I also added more salt(1tea), more garam masala(1tab) and a little red pepper(1tea). I eat Indian food alot, so this recipe will certainly become a part of my rotation of dinner meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T9CHEBIT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
Incredible tasting! Serve it over rice, with a side of naan and everyone is impressed! My boyfriend did not like this dish when we went to an indian restaraunt, but ADORED it when I made it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
We loved this dahl. My husband worked in India for two months, and he said this recipe was very authentic. I used curry paste instead of all the spices, and we thought it was better with a bit of salt and a tablespoon of sugar. Served over basmati rice with naan bread, it makes a great and fiberful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nacmacfeagle
Home Town: Hantsport, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Dauphin, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
Really, really tasty! I substituted yogurt for the coconut milk and halved the amount of butter, and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States