Indian Dahl with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
well-seasoned lentils, warmed our bellies and palates surprisingly quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
You do need to cook gently all the spices in oil first - to make it easier on sensitive tummies. Then add the onions, etc. This method also makes the end result more aromatic. Certainly dahl spinach soup is soul warming on a cold day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by argus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Cham, Zug, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Great spice flavors and simplicity in preparation. I used 1.5 tsp salt and yogurt for the end. Highly satisfied family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adamkukuk
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, except I can't have chili powder so I omitted that. I actually felt the spice level and salt to be good as written. It is missing a zip. I am not sure what I did wrong. I used the coconut milk you purchase in the refrigerator section, so I don't know if it would have turned out better with the canned coconut milk. The yogurt idea is fabulous but I also can't have dairy (I am a walking food disaster-- hard to find recipes!) It is not bad, just missing a zip in my opinion. Maybe I'll try adding some fresh squeezed lemon before serving?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This is very good. However, for my preferance the lentils need to cook about 10 - 15 min. longer than what recipe calls for. I add a tad more indian chili powder than what it calls for. I also like my Dahls to have a tomato base sometimes, so next time I make it I will also try adding tomato paste. I have made this several times and have played around with the amount of spices. my husband loves it 2 of my kids won't touch it (too spicy) and my other son will eat it he just adds plain yogurt to it if the spices get to hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kingsburg, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I doubled the spices as others suggested - and I still found it to be kind of "meh". I think next time I'll add hot pepper of some sort and mushrooms to add a bit more body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This is a great recipe with a few small modifications to taste. I increased the turmeric and chili and added about 1/2 tsp of cayenne. And I used yogurt because I had no coconut milk in the house. I also added a veggie bouillon cube at the beginning. It's very flavourful. And whoever uploaded the photo made a mistake. It doesn't look like this at all (no mushrooms for one thing). Look at the other photo to see what it looks like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This was so good. I've made it 3 times. The last time I forgot to add the coconut milk and it was still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NBRNINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Delicious! My toddler loves this and it is so good for him. I used Balkan-style yogurt instead of coconut milk, but otherwise it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I increased all the spices a tad and replaced spinach with asparagus and it was great (tried again with Spinach but feel asparagus was better)! Added asparagus to lentils a little earlier than if I were using spinach. Would probably have been great with spinach too, but I didn't have it on hand. Served with Aloo Phujia (recipe from this site which I modified slightly), basmati rice, naan, and plain yogourt. BTW my dish looked nothing like the picture, it was quite mushy but so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARHYSMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States