Indian Dahl with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I love love love Dahl and this one is fantastic! I have made it at least a half dozen times since I found it. Even the kids devour it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerluver1277

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
My husband and I just started eating Indian food 2 years ago. Being new vegetarians we have been seeking out tasty Indian recipes and my husband and I both enjoyed this one. I did add some additional sea salt, but overall this was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I took the advice of previous review and increased salt and spices, and this was very good. It does make alot, so we are freezing some. My husband made sure I put this on the "to make again" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Great base recipe, but it needs tweaking to make it great. I followed the spices initially, tasted the dahl, and decided it needed WAY more. I like lots of spices, so I added a blend of curry/garam masala/cumin to taste. I had to mustard seeds, so I added a pinch of dry mustard in its place. I added a dallop of plain yogurt at the end. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I made as is but made a dumb mistake of picking up coconut juice instead of coconut milk.. I still used it just to get some coconut flavor. It turned out REALLY good! I really liked this dish even though it is not anything like anything I had ever cooked before. Thanks for the wonderful recipe, will make again with actual coconut milk next time. BTW, this says 4 servings but we ended up with quite a lot leftover! luckily you say it freezes well, so that's what we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I had to add more turmeric, salt and chili powder, but what a fabulous dish! I don't generally like cooked spinach unless it's just wilted with some bacon, olive oil and pine nuts, but this dish was so good I had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
very bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krista
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Very good, quick and extremy well liked by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
this is a nice dahl. I used extra salt like the other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
YUM! Tastes so much like the daal at my favorite Indian restaurant. Will be making again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States