Indian Dahl with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I added chickpeas and edamame to this recipe to make it more filling...amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was absolutely fabulous. I did not have mustard seed so I used ground mustard. I took the hint from another reviewer and carmelized the onions, and I added the garam masala to the onions and let it cook in, and I added just a little more for punch. The yogurt was a nice addition. Did not use the milk. Ate it alone but will probably serve over brown rice. This is the best Dahl I've had so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I really liked this served with Jasmine Rice. I read the other reviews after I tasted it and realized it was a little bland. I added a lot more salt to satisfy my taste but I generally do not need much salt to satisfy my taste. I doubled the Garam Masala and the chili powder. Next time I will use the suggestion of the other reviews and double all the spices and use vegetable broth in place of the water. It smelled good cooking. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lavonne_tobias

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I love love love Dahl and this one is fantastic! I have made it at least a half dozen times since I found it. Even the kids devour it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerluver1277

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
My husband and I just started eating Indian food 2 years ago. Being new vegetarians we have been seeking out tasty Indian recipes and my husband and I both enjoyed this one. I did add some additional sea salt, but overall this was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I took the advice of previous review and increased salt and spices, and this was very good. It does make alot, so we are freezing some. My husband made sure I put this on the "to make again" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Great base recipe, but it needs tweaking to make it great. I followed the spices initially, tasted the dahl, and decided it needed WAY more. I like lots of spices, so I added a blend of curry/garam masala/cumin to taste. I had to mustard seeds, so I added a pinch of dry mustard in its place. I added a dallop of plain yogurt at the end. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I made as is but made a dumb mistake of picking up coconut juice instead of coconut milk.. I still used it just to get some coconut flavor. It turned out REALLY good! I really liked this dish even though it is not anything like anything I had ever cooked before. Thanks for the wonderful recipe, will make again with actual coconut milk next time. BTW, this says 4 servings but we ended up with quite a lot leftover! luckily you say it freezes well, so that's what we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I had to add more turmeric, salt and chili powder, but what a fabulous dish! I don't generally like cooked spinach unless it's just wilted with some bacon, olive oil and pine nuts, but this dish was so good I had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
very bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States