Indian Dahl with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Great recipe. Made a little change to reduce butter. I put the can of coconut milk in fridge - when it's cold, the fat rises to the top so you can scoop it out. I reduced butter to 1 tsp. Simmered it with coconut fat with the spices and onions to make a paste of sorts, added in spinach after onions softened. Added in lentils, and added more of coconut milk (the watery part) as needed. I will make this again! Level of spices was perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Where's the FLAVA?! This recipe needs SALT and you could easily double the spices! But it's a good basic recipe and tasted delicious on some rice, accompanied by the sweet symphony of garlic naan. I also added some supporting notes of shredded carrots, chopped red pepper, chopped canned green chili (2), and chopped zucchini. Healthy and happy bellies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayt Krepcho

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This has become a family staple, although with a few modifications that I've worked out over time. Try my modifications, you might like it even better! First, I use regular lentils (not red lentils) because red lentils are too mushy. Regular lentils come in a package of 2 cups, instead of the 1.5 cups called for in the recipe, so I up the amounts of the spices by about 1/3, and double the salt (it needs it!). I use cayenne pepper instead of chili pepper which gives it a nice zing, and I add a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes. I increase the water to 4.5 cups, and use an entire can of lite coconut milk. Also, I cook it in a pressure cooker, so it cooks up fast! First I brown the onion in the butter in the pressure cooker, adding in all the spices to coat the browned onion. Then I add the tomatoes, lentils, water and fresh spinach, close it up and put it on the heat, and once the weight starts jiggling, set the timer for 20 minutes. Once it's done I let it cool, remove the top and add the coconut milk. I make this about once a week, and we eat the leftovers all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This was a nice dahl dish. I didn't use the mustard seed and I used yogurt instead of coconut milk, and I liked this dish. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I have made this several times with great success. It requires far more spices than called for in the recipe in order to give it any flavor, and I think using ghee instead of regular butter would really put it over the top. Thanks for a great base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I followed the recipe to the letter so I don't know how it went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I made this tonight for my husband who is from Mumbai. It turned out beautifully delicious. My husband loved it; said it reminded him of home. I plan on making this again and again. It goes great with naan. Thank you for giving us this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterfly1107

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Fantastic! Just made this for lunch and will make again and again. I made exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Great dahl. Easy to make. I added to the finishing (onion and spices) 2 cloves of garlic and a whole grated tomato (discard skin). Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I made this dahl recipe with collards instead of spinach, added red pepper flakes because I like my dahl spicy and used 1/2 butter, 1/2 olive oil instead of only butter-- it turned out deliciously. I paired it with brown rice. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States