Indian Dahl with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Very hearty and delicious! (Also, quick to prepare and not that many dishes to wash afterward...) I omitted the coconut milk and increased the spices. Of course, keep in mind that the taste of this recipe can vary drastically, depending on spice freshness and quality, so taste as you go along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
My first time trying a Dahl and this website. What a great start! I took the advice of others and doubled the spices, except instead of doubling chilli powder I added an equal amount of cayenne pepper. I used lite coconut milk by Thai kitchen and it added depth and wasn't too sweet. I used water, not veg. stock and it was pleanty spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
This came out really good, I had to make more servings since I was cooking for a larger group and it came out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
The rating is with the changes made from suggestions here. I doubled the spices, used broth instead of water. I didn't carmelize the onions, however, which wasn't missed. I tasted the dahl before I added the coconut milk (very tasty!), and then added the coconut milk. The addition of the coconut milk made it a tiny bit richer, but certaintly not sweeter. I wonder if the previous reviewer who was so disappointed with the addition of the coconut milk used sweeted coconut milk? It turned out wonderfully. Btw, this makes 4 main course helpings, not 4 side dish helpings, as I quickly learned from having doubled the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Cartagena, Bolivar, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I love Indian food and dahl is probably my most favourite dish. This is a great recipe. I agree that additonal spices are needed for flavour, but the texture and consistency were perfect. I followed the recipe precisely, but added more salt. It will become a regular at our house. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I love dahl and spinach and coconut - so I already knew I'd like this! I doubled the spices, added a little more than called for coconut milk, and thought it was just good that night. I had it again for lunch, and its really really good! The spices really blend together well overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
My fiance spent some time in India as a kid, and is a huge fan of dahl. He loved this recipe. I give it five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I made this for dinner tonight and used half pound frozen spinach but otherwise made the recipe as written. I enjoyed it but like others, felt it could of used more flavour. Next time I will add some more spices or use stock instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I'm on an Indian food kick, and trying to learn how to reproduce it for myself at home. This recipe was really good....but seemed to be missing something--a kick. I added a good amount of salt to mine; I would suggest doubling the amount called for. I also used frozen spinach and reserved the water from thawing it to boil with my lentils. That probably added both to the nutrition count and the flavor. I'll probably make this one again, and do some experimentation with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Loved it- so tasty and easy to make! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poland, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States