Indian Dahl with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I love dahl and spinach and coconut - so I already knew I'd like this! I doubled the spices, added a little more than called for coconut milk, and thought it was just good that night. I had it again for lunch, and its really really good! The spices really blend together well overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
My fiance spent some time in India as a kid, and is a huge fan of dahl. He loved this recipe. I give it five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I made this for dinner tonight and used half pound frozen spinach but otherwise made the recipe as written. I enjoyed it but like others, felt it could of used more flavour. Next time I will add some more spices or use stock instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I'm on an Indian food kick, and trying to learn how to reproduce it for myself at home. This recipe was really good....but seemed to be missing something--a kick. I added a good amount of salt to mine; I would suggest doubling the amount called for. I also used frozen spinach and reserved the water from thawing it to boil with my lentils. That probably added both to the nutrition count and the flavor. I'll probably make this one again, and do some experimentation with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Loved it- so tasty and easy to make! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poland, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This dish has potential but did not turn out too great just by following the recipe. I would use less water next time and definitely more spice..especially curry powder. I will be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This recipe is delicious, even without spinach. The coconut milk really adds something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINSEID

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
This was very good--creamy and flavorful, a nice comfort food. I followed other reviewers' suggestions and used vegetable broth instead of water, but I didn't double the spices because I wanted to try it as is first (although I did double the salt). We both thought the flavor was good, but my boyfriend, who's taken an Indian cooking class, thought it could use more spices, so next time I'll bump them up. Instead of butter, I used unrefined coconut oil that I picked up at a great Indian market. Most coconut oils (especially refined ones) don't really have a flavor, but this one has a smoky hint that was delicious with the dahl. With the current E. coli scare, I couldn't find fresh spinach anywhere, so I used escarole, which has a similar texture when cooked. I can't wait to try it with spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
My family loved these lentils. I did substitute part heavy cream and plain yogurt instead of the coconut milk. I also used vegetable broth instead of water as others suggested. I had to cook the lentils longer than the recipe suggested so I added more water. I will definitely make them again with the Indian Style Basmati Rice also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
delicous! very easy to make, and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 91-100 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States