Indian Dahl with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
So I don't really cook other than American country type food. I read about turmeric so I needed a recipe and I randomly chose this not expecting to like it at all. Bought all the ingredients read the comments so I added 2 cups chicken broth and 1 1/2 cup water. I tasted it before adding the last part, garam masala, and was freaking out because it was all kinds of delicious! Then I added the garam masala and coconut milk and wish I hadn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle porter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
No need to be afraid of cooking Indian food with this recipe! This is a great base recipe for dahl. It made a huge quantity and I just finished off the last of it on day 4. It got better every day! I followed the directions pretty closely but substituted Sharwood's Curry Powder for the spices. Next time I will try the suggestions for increasing spices as it was not especially spicy, but the lentils and spinach had a great flavor together on their own. I also think I'll skip the coconut milk and add a little plain yogurt, which I always have on hand. Also, I used whole red lentils and it was a bit runny, so we're going to call it soup in the future. The family loved it and this will go into heavy rotation over the fall and winter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I have made this recipe quite a few times, at least once to twice a month. It tastes very good. I've made a few adjustments, as using twice the amount of spices recipe calls for and adding a little fresh ginger and cardamom. It's also very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
A great healthy and very filling meal! It's not quite what I would call authentic, I found I had to double the heat with chillis, cumin and coriander.I also used chicken broth instead of water, and a pinch of cinnimon to add more depth. All in all, this is a great little recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by l_simpson82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I used baby turnips greens (fresh out of garden) instead of spinach, still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I added a bit of curry and some extra salt but still felt like it needed more flavor. Maybe more curry or non-mild chili powder...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I have made this a couple times and I love it. I toast the mustard and cumin (seeds, not ground) and substitute coconut oil for the butter. I also add cayenne for kick, and additional garam masala to taste - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by llmcc
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Healthy but tasted better a day later with added jar of homemade salsa, sriracha, and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by llmcc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Delicious! I didn't have mustard seeds so I used ground mustard powder. I added ground ginger to it and was a little more generous with the spices than the recipe called for. I also added a chili pepper to spice it up and give it some heat. Also, I pureed half of the mixture to give it a better consistency, I made chapati bread to accompany it and it was spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
very good would make it again.. my previous rating was way off once it cooled it thickened .. my dinner guests truly enjoyed it simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States