Indian Curried Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I followed the other reviewers advice and doubled the spices, used olive oil instead of butter and added peas and carrots. It was delicious. My husband raved about it and I've added it to our dinner rotation. Wonderful served with Indian Butter Chicken recipe on Allrecipes. Only giving it a 4 due to changes that had to be made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
In addition to doubling the spices as most have recommended, I changed the ratio of barley to water (because I used a pressure cooker). Instead, I used 1 cup barley to 4 1/2 cups water and cooked it on high for 18 minutes. When I made the recipe on the stove with the 1 1/2 cup barley to 3 1/2 cups water, I found that I had to keep adding boiling liquid - it took close to an hour with the recipe the way it is written. The ratio pearled barley to water is not right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Loved this--a great way to get in some extra fiber. The recipe has a lot of flavor. Only thing I would change would be to add some extra raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Pretty tasty. But, I did have to triple the curry. 1/4 teaspoon is not nearly enough. The raisins are a MUST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I am glad I read the reviews. I also doubled the spices, used carrots and corn with a few raisins. I had about a half cup of cooked Italian ground sausage, so I tossed that in. It really added alot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This is a 4 as written a 5 with the changes. The changes include doubling the spices. to 1 tsp curry, 1 tsp tumeric and 1/2 tsp allspice. I also added 1/2 tsp ginger. I used bullion cubes instead of canned broth and it was plenty salty so I omitted the extra salt. I'd probably omit the pepper next time too. This was rockin'! I cleaned the plate as well as spooned the leftovers into my mouth as I washes the dishes.. Yummy. It could use slightly less butter, but only if you have a lean main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I was looking for something my roommate could eat easily during Lent (he's Orthodox, so he has to go vegan, no olive oil, nothing like that during Lent) and I found this. Figured I might as well try it. I was wary, mostly because my roommate and his fiancee (who's my other roommate) both HATE most Indian foods, but I figured, hey, might as well try it. Add in the fact that the two of them are really picky and I was worried. I used fake-Butter instead of Butter, low sodium veggie broth instead of chicken brother, added carrots and peas, and doubled the various spices per someone else's review, and it was AMAZING. Everyone loved it. I think when I remake this during lent, I might even fry up some seitan or tofu to toss in it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Filling and tasty and not hard to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This recipe is simmering now! It smells fantastic. I used extra curry powder and turmeric. I also sauteed some tilapia with the onions and barley, just to add some flakey protein to make it a main dish. I didn't have any butter, so I used olive oil. Also didn't have ground allspice, just whole, so I had a fun time trying to chop it up with my dull knife! Can't wait until it's done, my mouth is watering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States