Indian Curried Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This was incredibly easy and tasty. My 8, 5 and 1 year olds loved it, in spite of their supposed dislike of onions! We left the slivered almonds and raisins as sides so the kids could choose whether or not to top their barley with either of those. Everyone was happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I doubled the amount of curry, but otherwise this had the perfect combination of spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Made this with non-fat/low sodium broth, doubled the curry powder, used a smidge over the 1/2 tsp. salt (kosher) and ground pepper. It was absolutely delish and so easy to prepare! WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohiosoup
Photo by squarepear
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I was so excited to try this because I LOVE barley, and it did not disappoint. I changed the raisins and almonds to peas and carrots because I had just had a bad experience with both (kidney stone anyone???) and we need our veggies! I added 1/2 cup more chicken broth to help cook the carrots and added more curry per other reviews. Also used oil instead of butter. Fantastic taste - I really like the subtle allspice flavor. Ate this with some tilapia - DELISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squarepear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ingalls, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
excellent and so simple! Afraid that it wouldn't be enough curry flavor,so I added one tsp. Perfect. Also didn't have pearl barley and pot barley worked great. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This was delicious! I need to make sure I have barley on hand now just to be able to make this dish. I'm not really a raisin-in-things person, so I didn't use any raisins, but otherwise followed the recipe. Soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kumquatgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
my family loved this recipe...it was a great change from the regular sides. I did add more broth and curry, left out the raisons and nuts, and added spinach. I will make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Wow, even the kid liked this! A great alternative for rice. I usually make my curries with cinnamon, that was my only substitution. To make it a little more heart healthy I will replace the butter with olive oil when I make it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Excellent - and very healthy! I substituted ginger for the allspice, and doubled all the spices. I added shredded carrots & chopped zucchini - and left out the raisins & nuts this time around! I also used 1 can of chicken broth - and water to make up the difference. Very tasty!!! Now I want more! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I omitted the butter, salt and almonds. I subbed homemade vegetable broth for the chicken broth. It smelled so good while cooking! This is a delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States